Scroll To Top
History of the Victorian APS Head of the River rowing regatta

1958 Head of the River

1958 Programme Cover

The ninety-first Head of the River was an all the way win for Melbourne Grammar. They had half a length at the half mile and despite a crab along the way, went onto win comfortably by a length.

Organising Committee and Officials

Organising Committee: Alan W Mitchell (WC), J H Campbell (GC), John E L Barber (GGS), Gordon Sargood (MGS), Laurence H Christie (SC) & Rev E W Morris SC (XC)

Starter: J P Gaskin

Umpires: Robert R Aitken & Jack L Mounsey

Judges: N Grose & R W Thursfield

Other Officials: J Trengrove, V Profitt, R W Purnell, P Everist, R Frater, A Staley, W Green, J Hoppe, R Kennedy & S Kennedy

Head of the River

Time: 4:43.2
Margin: 1 length

Losers final:
Time: 4:52.8
Margins: 3/4 & 1/2 length

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: E W Campbell, 2: G W G Leviny, 3: J S Hicks, 4: D McA Baillieu, 5: P W Dodwell, 6: P C Van de Velde, 7: A C Ruwolt, Str: D J M Wilson, Cox: R C Davies, Cchs: Gordon Sargod & Anthony J Smith
Equal 2nd Geelong College - Bow: T M Burrows, 2: R A S Lawson, 3: G R King, 4: A R Scott, 5: H T Bromell, 6: W J P Selle, 7: A B Troedel, Str: T W Sproat, Cox: R Pennefather, Cch: Albert B Bell
Equal 2nd Xavier College - Bow: Graeme J Wilson, 2: R J Stanley, 3: Andrew F Sinn, 4: Robert G Leahy, 5: Malcolm D McKenzie, 6: Martin G Tomanovits, 7: T T Whitehead, Str: John F Ryan, Cox: D F Reilly, Cch: Charles G Saleh

This was a start to finish win by Melbourne Grammar to take out the Head of the River. Melbourne Grammar won the start and were well placed to meet any challenge by the other two crews. It was an absorbing race for second place with Geelong College unable to hold off Xavier's final push and they finished equal second.

Losers Final:
1st Geelong Grammar - Bow:M R C Brown, 2: J M Gray, 3: I B Carnegie, 4: W J P Carnegie, 5: R K L Lawson, 6: G H Burston, 7: J D Pickett-heaps, Str: J S Sinclair, Cox: J A Dickens, Cchs: John E L Barber & Hubert Ward
2nd Wesley College - Bow: N R Gordon, 2: I M McCulloch, 3: J C Duffy, 4: K G Nicholas, 5: R C Davey, 6: J C Woodlock, 7: John D Castle, Str: R G Selleck, Cox: R E Austin, Cch: Alan W Mitchell
3rd Scotch College - Bow: Chester S Keon-Cohen, 2: James C B Penfold, 3: Michael W Fleming, 4: Douglas K Hyslop, 5: John S Collingwood, 6: Thomas U Christen, 7: John G McEwen, Str: Fergus I McPherson, Cox: Colin T K Stuart, Cch: Laurence H Christie

Wesley College First Crew

Left to right: Str: R G Selleck, 7: John D Castle, 6: J C Woodlock, 5: R C Davey, Cch: A W Mitchell, 4: K G Nicholas, 3: J C Duffy, 2: I M McCulloch, Bow: N R Gordon
In front Cox: R E Austin

Scotch College First Crew

Photo: The Scotch Collegian June 1958

E1: 1st MGS, 2nd GGS, Margin: 2 1/2 lengths, Time: 4:54
E2: 1st GC, 2nd SC, Margin: 1 1/4 lengths, Time: 4:52.8
E3: 1st XC, 2nd WC, Margin: 1 1/2 lengths, Time: 4:48

Second Crews

Time: 3:41.4
Margins: 3 feet and 3/4 length
Distance 0.75 mile

Losers final:
Time: 3:41.4
Margin: 2 lengths

1st Geelong College - Bow: W A Cawthorn, 2: Roger W Bodey, 3: J M Wager, 4: K C Hawken, 5: J D Mackellar, 6: R J Heard, 7: G J Burger, Str: David W Edge, Cox: N F Walter, Cch: James M Ferguson
2nd Geelong Grammar - Bow: I E Mackay, 2: J M Gray, 3: D O Falkiner, 4: D A McKenzie, 5: R E Jones, 6: A G Trotter, 7: A N Laycock, Str: R P Gorton, Cox: J S Ayers, Cch: Hubert Ward
3rd Scotch College - Bow: B C Carr, 2: G E Speed, 3: J F Strang, 4: E J Anstee, 5: A J Alexander, 6: G C Crome, 7: P G Davidson, Str: P J Keast, Cox: C W Blackwood, Cch: M R Wood

Scotch College Second Crew

Photo: The Scotch Collegian June 1958

Losers final:
1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: J D Farfor, 2: R G A A'Beckett, 3: W L Ruttledge, 4: J W Stuckey, 5: I F Butt, 6: J A Smithers, 7: R D D McAdam, Str: T R Pringle, Cox: J Cockbill, Cch: Gordon Sargood
2nd Xavier College - Bow: Peter J Downey, 2: J J Thom, 3: S R Nixon, 4: C G Romanin, 5: A W Adams, 6: T R Griffin, 7: J F Gurry, Str: Michael F McKenna, Cox: G G Tehan, Cch: Rev M J O'Mahoney SJ
3rd Wesley College - Bow: J R G Gaylard, 2: J R Fox, 3: P R Martyn, 4: G N King, 5: R A Moule, 6: W J D Henshaw, 7: G D Allen, Str: R W Hector, Cox: A S Coates, Cch: D Ian Allen

Wesley College Second Crew with coach Ian Allen

E1: 1st SC, 2nd WC, Margin: 3/4 length, Time: 3:46.2
E2: 1st GC, 2nd MGS, Margin: 2 feet, Time: 3:40.4
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd XC, Margin: 2 lengths, Time: 3:45.2

Third Crews

Time: 2:25.8
Margins: a canvas and 1/2 length
Distance: 1/2 mile

Losers final:
Time: 2:33.4
Margins: 1 length & 1 canvas

1st Geelong College - Bow: M S Keating, 2: A H McArthur, 3: M L McDonald, 4: W T Honey, 5: J A Kumnick, 6: G H Simpson, 7: D B Wood, Str: S A Howell, Cox: J C lee, Cch: R W Purnell
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: J M J Gaylard, 2: A C Stokes, 3: M G Nicholas, 4: L V Luxton, 5: A J Buzzard, 6: J D W Morice, 7: M A Sutherland, Str: D C L Downey, Cox: A J Dunlop, Cch: M J Arnold
3rd Geelong Grammar - Bow: R D N Palmer, 2: H S Sutherland, 3: J P Smith, 4: R H McGeachy, 5: R W Trotter, 6: C B Warren, 7: W A H Molesworth, Str: M J Molesworth, Cox: T S Manifold, Cch: P Thornley

Losers final:
1st Xavier College - Bow: R H Ireland, 2: W T Dobson, 3: J M Dwyer, 4: B J O'Loughlin, 5: P A McCabe Doyle, 6: J J Zahara, 7: R A O'Brien, Str: W A Ryan, Cox: P M Dean, Cch: Michael Lefebvre
2nd Wesley College - Bow: A J Walduck, 2: I S Collins, 3: J D O'Donnell, 4: J R Blandford, 5: A E Vardy, 6: J R Stone, 7: G L T Dixon, Str: K W Vardy, Cox: Mark A Schapper, Cch: A G Simmons
3rd Scotch College - Bow: W T Marshall, 2: G Cunningham, 3: W J Kilpatrick, 4: B R Andrews, 5: G D Strang, 6: A N Findlay, 7: D H Hume, Str: D K Cheney, Cox: C Newman, Cch: P N Thomson

Scotch College Third Crew

Photo: The Scotch Collegian June 1958

E1: 1st MGS, 2nd XC, Margin: 1/3 length, Time: 2:33.8
E2: 1st GC, 2nd WC, Margin: 1/2 length, Time: 2:30.4
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd SC, Margin: 2 feet, Time: 2:36.6

< previous 1957

> next 1959

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management