Scroll To Top
History of the Victorian APS Head of the River rowing regatta

1955 Head of the River

The regatta was held on the Barwon as usual with heats on 15th April and finals on 16th April. This was to be the last year of the involement of W H Pincott of Geelong Grammar. He died later this year.

As with many other years, many well known rowers came from this year. They included Caithness and Norwood from Geelong College, Lee and McCall from Scotch and Gillon from Xavier. Stuart McArthur, stroke of the winning Geelong College crew, became a well known local Geelong federal politician.

1955 Winning Xavier College Third Crew

Reproduced with permission from "Lift her home to victory lads! A centenary history of Xavier College Rowing 1906-2006" by Michael Lefebvre

Head of the River

Time: 4:44.4
Margin: 1/3 length and dead heat

Losers final
Time: 4:51.6
Margins: 1/3 length and 1/2 length

1st Geelong College - Bow: J G Pennefather, 2: David M Caithness, 3: G G Wills, 4: W W Lawler, 5: Derek E H Norwood, 6: W A W Wood, 7: B S Kinder, Str: F Stuart McArthur, Cox: A T John, Cch: Albert B Bell
Equal 2nd Scotch College
- Bow: Robert E Lee, 2: A Russell Frater, 3: J Peter Rowland, 4: Hugh A C Dick, 5: Michael J Edgar, 6: Graeme A McCall, 7: William V Waddell, Str: William S Tingate, Cox: Kenneth S Jasper, Cch: Laurence H Christie
Equal 2nd Wesley College
- Bow: J W Ralton, 2: M F Boyt, 3: M J Lee, 4: B R G McKeown, 5: Irvin P Rockman, 6: D Ian Allen, 7: T H Jackett, Str: Peter J Guest, Cox: I M Trudinger, Cch: Alan W Mitchell

1955 Final with Geelong College leading with a dead heat between Scotch and Wesley looming

Scotch College 1st Crew

Photo: The Scotch Collegian June 1955

Wesley College 1st Crew

Photo: Ian Allen

Losers final
Geelong Grammar - Bow: R W Sneddon, 2: S M Welsh, 3: J G Gatenby, 4: R B D Cook, 5: I A K Baillieu, 6: D R Clutter, 7: P M Robinson, Str: J P Gilmore, Cox: N P W Allen, Cch: John E L Barber
Melbourne Grammar - Bow: G R Coldham, 2: A G Johnson, 3: W R Riches, 4: J B Ward, 5: R F Richards, 6: N R A Barrett, 7: D B Brown, Str: F B W Laycock, Cox: G H Hazard, Cch: Anthony J Smith
Xavier College
- Bow: J B Galbraith, 2: P F Darling, 3: J B Wallace, 4: B L Maloney, 5: W L Greville, 6: Peter L Gillon, 7: P R Dowling, Str: Edward W O'Bryan, Cox: G D Reilly, Cch: Charles G Saleh

Heat results:
E1: 1st WC, 2nd MGS, Time: 4:45.6, Margin: 1 length
E2: 1st GC, 2nd GGS, Time: 4:45, Margin: 1 1/4 length
E3: 1st SC, 2nd XC, Time: 4:47, Margin: 1 1/2 lengths

Second Crews

Time: 2:27
Margins: 3 feet and 1/2 length

Losers final
Time: 2:28.6
margins: 1 foot and 3/4 length

1st Geelong College
2nd Geelong Grammar
3rd Scotch College
- Bow: I O Nicholls, 2: B J Andrews, 3: J H C Nairn, 4: M H Munro, 5: A S Olsson, 6: B Conduit, 7: N C W Courtney, Str: P G Russell, Cox: R McC Hawthorne, Cch: M R Wood

Scotch College Second Crew

Photo: The Scotch Collegian June 1955

Losers final:
1st Wesley College
2nd Xavier College
- Bow: M Hayden, 2: W Sinn, 3: M Martin, 4: W O'Connell, 5: P Metzner, 6: B Nixon, 7: R Dupuche, Str: C Donelan, Cox: P Chisholm, Cch: Fr M O'Mahoney SJ
3rd Melbourne Grammar

E1: 1st: GC, 2nd XC, Time: 2:29.4, Margin: 1/2 length
E2: 1st SC, 2nd MGS, Time: 2:29.8, Margin: 1/2 length
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd WC, Time: 2:30.4, Margin: 1/3 length

Third Crews

Time: 2:32
Margins: 2 feet and 1/2 length

Losers final
Time: 2:29
Margins: 1/2 length and 1/4 length

1st Xavier College - Bow: G King, 2: A Porges, 3: J Doyle, 4: J Boston, 5: A Vio, 6: J Cade, 7: K Johnston, Str: John Tynan, Cox: J McGrath
2nd Scotch College - Bow: A M Cordell, 2: B Geary, 3: J F Macrae, 4: M J Errington, 5: A S Peacock, 6: P I Hunter, 7: J L Osborne, Str: T T Tilley, Cox: F P Newman, cch: D M Green
3rd Melbourne Grammar

Xavier College Third Crew

Photo: Lift Her Home To Victory, Lads by Michael Lefebve

Losers final:
1st Geelong College
2nd Wesley College
3rd Geelong Grammar

E1: 1st XC, 2nd WC, Time: 2:32, Margin: 1 length
E2: 1st SC, 2nd GC, Time: 2:32, Margin: 1 length
E3: 1st MGS, 2nd GGS, Time: 2:32.4, Margin: 1/2 length

< previous 1954

> next 1956

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management