Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

The Sir Fred Schonell Trophy for Men's Lightweight Four, Australian University Championships

Sir Fred Schonell Trophy

Sir Fred Schonell Trophy

This event commenced in 1963 and has been won more by Melbourne University than any other. Many world champion lightweight oarsmen have won this event.

This event moved from coxed to coxless in 2004.

Australian Universities' Men's Lightweight Four Championship
Year Winner Second Third Fourth Fifth Sixth
1963 Melbourne Adelaide Sydney Tasmania Queensland NSW
1964 Melbourne Adelaide Sydney Tasmania Western Australia Queensland
1965 No contest          
1966 Adelaide Sydney Melbourne Other placings unknown    
1967 Melbourne Sydney Queensland Monash Adelaide Western Australia
1968 Sydney Melbourne Adelaide Western Australia    
1969 Melbourne Western Australia Adelaide ANU Queensland  
1970 Melbourne ANU Adelaide NSW Sydney Western Australia
1971 Melbourne ANU =2nd Adelaide =2nd Queensland Monash  
1972 Melbourne Queensland NSW Sydney Monash  
1973 Melbourne Adelaide NSW Newcastle    
1974 Adelaide Melbourne Sydney NSW Monash  
1975 Melbourne Adelaide NSW Sydney Flinders  
1976 Melbourne Monash Tasmania Adelaide ANU  
1977 Adelaide Melbourne ANU Sydney Tasmania NSW
1978 Melbourne Adelaide Sydney ANU Queensland Tasmania
1979 Melbourne Queensland ANU UNSW Sydney  
1980 Melbourne ANU Queensland Other placings unknown    
1981 Melbourne Western Australia ANU Adelaide Sydney Royal Military College - Duntroon
1982 Melbourne ANU Queensland Sydney Macquarie  
1983 Queensland Melbourne NSW      
1984 Melbourne Monash Sydney Adelaide University of NSW  
1985 Melbourne University of WA Sydney      
1986 Melbourne Sydney Macquarie New South Wales    
1987 Melbourne Adelaide New South Wales      
1988 Queensland NSW Melbourne      
1989 Melbourne ANU Monash Sydney Macquarie Adelaide
1990 Queensland Melbourne ANU Macquarie Sydney New South Wales
1991 Melbourne Queensland Adelaide      
1992 Melbourne ANU Sydney      
1993 Queensland          
1994 Western Australia Melbourne Tasmania      
1995 Melbourne Macquarie        
1996 Sydney          
1997 Queensland New South Wales        
1998 Melbourne          
1999 Sydney          
2000 Sydney ANU Macquarie NSW    
2001 Sydney Melbourne NSW ANU Macquarie  
2002 Sydney Melbourne Western Australia New South Wales ADFA  
2003 Queensland Adelaide Western Australia Newcastle NSW Macquarie
2004 Melbourne Sydney Tasmania-Hobart Western Australia Adelaide NSW
2005 Melbourne ANU Queensland Sydney Adelaide Macquarie
2006 Adelaide Melbourne Sydney ANU LaTrobe Newcastle
2007 Sydney Macquarie Adelaide Melbourne Monash ANU
2008 Sydney Newcastle ANU      
2009 Sydney Melbourne Western Australia ANU Newcastle ADFA
2010 Western Australia Sydney New South Wales      
2011 Melbourne Western Australia Adelaide Newcastle ANU  
2012 Western Australia Adelaide Griffith ANU    
2013 Western Australia Melbourne ANU Newcastle    
2014 Western Australia Griffith ANU New South Wales Newcastle  
2015 Melbourne Adelaide Western Australia Queensland ANU New South Wales






Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management