Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1911 Australian University Championships— Port River Adelaide SA

This was the first of four straight wins pre WWI for Melbourne but the margin was small - 1 1/2 lengths from Sydney. The race was conducted over a 3 mile course on 10th June 1911.


Men's Eight

Time: 16 mins 29 secs
1 1/2 lengths
7 lengths

1st Melbourne University - Bow: Cyril C Halkyard, 2: Samuel Percival Lyttle, 3: Arthur Frank Stanley Dobson, 4: Frederick Harold Moran, 5: Harold Rabling, 6: Jack Lindsay Doubleday, 7: Harry Ross-Soden, Str: Clive S Steele, Cox: Frank Llewellyn Gill, Cch: Charles Donald

2nd Sydney University - Bow: Dudley Williams, 2: Anthony T Cunningham, 3: Burton G Wade, 4: Leo B Heath, 5: Charles B Donaldson, 6: Paul E Voss, 7: Allan T Woodriff, Str: Alfred J Robson, Cox: John H Jones, Cch: Keith Williams

3rd Adelaide University - Bow: Paul Charles Albert Fornachon, 2: Wilfred Windham Cooper, 3: Harold Houghton Swift, 4: Harold John Penny, 5: Ronald Melville Scott, 6: Cecil Thomas Madigan, 7: Charles Lempriere Abbott, Str: Arthur Lorimer Kennedy, Cox: Angus Salier Ferguson, Cch: Collier R Cudmore


Melbourne University

Back row: F H Moran, S P Lyttle, F L Gill, C C Halkyard, A F S Dobson
Front row: J L Doubleday, C S Steele, Harry Ross-Soden, H Rabling

< previous 1910

> next 1912

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management