Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1939 Australian University Championships— Nepean River Penrith NSW

These Championships were conducted on the Nepean River at Penrith on 3rd June 1939 over 3 miles. All crews except Tasmania were represented and the Sydney hold on the Championship was broken by Melbourne.

All the University crews at Penrith


Men's Eight

Time: 16 mins 38 secs
Margins: 1 1/2 and 7 lengths

1st Melbourne University - Bow: Kingsley S Rowan, 2: John A Blanch, 3: John A Forbes, 4: Lachlan H Wilson, 5: James S Guest, 6: Robert B Lewis, 7: C Robert Ampt, Str: Colin D Smith, Cox: H Stewart Moroney, Cch: Alexander (Lex) L Rentoul, Emerg: Geoffrey Harkness Gossip
2nd Sydney University - Bow: A R Burkitt, 2: W M Dill-Macky, 3: Des W Hollywood, 4: S A C Watson, 5: Richard C Opie, 6: William W Woodward, 7: B L Geddes, Str: W A Pringle, Cox: B G Clarke, Cchs: Dr A W Rourke & Brian M Carson
3rd Adelaide University - Bow: Philip James Claridge, 2: Jack Arthur Holton, 3: Alexander Frederick Gray, 4: Robin Archibald Burston, 5: Murray James Barrett, 6: Frank Fletcher Espie, 7: J K Marshman, Str: Lance S Bonnin, Cox: Allan James King, Cch: Henry Ridgway Simpson Newland
4th University of Western Australia - Bow: John E L Barber, 2: R T Gill, 3: I Robertson, 4: Laurie J Tuit, 5: Ian G Medcalf, 6: Edmund E Jarvis, 7: David Barratt-Hill, Str: Gordon Barrett-Hill, Cox: Colin Clarke, Emergs: Ian Robertson and Thomas A Davy, Cch: William A Goland
5th Queensland University - Bow: Thomas Frank Dimmock, 2: James Keith Livingstone Marks, 3: Alexander David Clouston, 4: Brian William Finucan, 5: Anthony John Tonakie, 6: John A Sagar, 7: Walter Selwyn Georgeson, Str: Derek Cecil O'Bierne, Cox: Henry Malcolm Whyte, Cch: Laurence James Sheehan

< previous 1938

> next 1940

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management