Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1910 Australian University Championships— Lower Yarra River Melbourne VIC

The course was reduced to 2 1/2 miles and rowed into the wind and tide. The margin between first and second was 4 lengths. The Adelaide crew did very well on the Victorian river to keep both the fancied NSW crew and locals well behind. The Annual Report of the Victorian Rowing Association described Adelaide as winning "rather easily".

The race was conducted on Tuesday 7th June 1910.


Men's Eight

Time: 17 mins 35 secs
Margin: 4 lengths

1st Adelaide University - Bow: Paul Charles Albert Fornachon, 2: Frank Fancett Espie, 3: Thomas Maxfield Hardie, 4: Cecil Thomas Madigan, 5: Ronald Melville Scott, 6: Glen Howard Burnell, 7: Charles Lempriere Abbott, Str: Arthur Lorimer Kennedy, Cox: Gilbert MacDonald Potts, Cchs: Arthur Nicholls & Arthur J Shepherd

2nd Sydney University - Bow: Howard K Denham, 2: Richard Grantley Fitzhardinge, 3: William E Kay, 4: Allan I Woodriff, 5: Cecil R Lucas, 6: John E Donaldson, 7: Robert J A Massie, Str: Clifford Norval Douglass, Cox: Edward Telford Simpson, Cchs: Rowan P Hickson & Thomas S Dixson

3rd Melbourne University - Bow: Arthur Frank Stanley Dobson, 2: Cyril C Halkyard, 3: Harold Rabling, 4: Samuel Percival Lyttle, 5: William Norman Abbott, 6: Harry Ross-Soden, 7: Sydney James Campbell, Str: Frank Aurley Henry Boynton, Cox: John Stanislaus Reginald Rowan, Cch: Charles Donald

The four man of the Melbourne University crew, Lyttle caught a crab and broke his oar lock. He unshipped his oar and let it overboard. He swung along with the rest of the crew but the steamers passed this crew. Cecil Thomas Madigan from Adelaide was the SA Rhodes Scholar.

< previous 1909

> next 1911

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management