Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1934 Australian University Championships— Murray River Mannum SA

This Championship was conducted on 2nd June 1934 on the Murray River at Mannum. All States were represented except Queensland and Tasmania.


Men's Eight

Time: 15 min 33 secs
Margins: 5 lengths and 4 lengths

1st Adelaide University - Bow: William Glanville Chapman, 2: James Rupert Magarey, 3: Robert Hayes Ward, 4: Henry Ridgway Simpson Newland, 5: Josiah Mark Bonnin, 6: Jack C Cuming, 7: Murray Frew Bonnin, Str: Selby C Douglas, Cox: Peter M Cudmore, Cch: Stanley T Facy
2nd Sydney University - Bow: J D Scott, 2: P C Lahey, 3: Frank J Munro, 4: Frank A Page, 5: A W Rourke, 6: D R Harbison, 7: William H Campbell, Str: Ian G Esplin, Cox: N G Godfrey, Coach: George McKenzie
3rd Melbourne University - Bow: M J M.Dunn, 2: T W Vorrath, 3: Rene P Yuncken, 4: D G Duffy, 5: J E Newton, 6: W D Refshauge, 7: L R D Pyke, Str: K F Cole, Cox: G C Dyte, Cch: E C H Taylor
4th Western Australian University
- Bow: A E Rogerson, 2: John Martin Lavan, 3: Gordon R Freeth, 4: Allan R Hill, 5: John A Wilkins, 6: A A Fisher, 7: G W Keall, Str: C S C Wickens, Cox: A J Williams, Cch: C S C Wickens

The Melbourne crew used a new boat from Jerram & Son of Princes Bridge.

mubc crew

Melbourne University Crew

Photo courtesy of Melbourne Grammar Archives

< previous 1933

> next 1935

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management