Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1897 Australian University Championships— Parramatta River Sydney NSW

The Sydney crew recovered from the loss to Adelaide of the previous year with 4 length win over Melbourne. The race was conducted on the 3 mile Championship course on 22nd May 1897.


Men's Eight

Time: 18 mins 8 secs
Margin: 4 lengths

1st Sydney University - Bow: Rowan P Hickson, 2: P Griffith, 3: Henry J Deane, 4: Herbert W Kendall, 5: Alfred L Vivers, 6: David Cowan, 7: Norman F White, Str: George A Vivers, Cox: Harold W Weigall

2nd Melbourne University - Bow: Norman Albert Miller, 2: Hyam (Harold) Gabriel Morris Brasch, 3: George Edward Broughton, 4: Charles Frederick Belcher, 5: William Robertson, 6: Richard Alexander Kerr, 7: George Murray Black, Str: Hugh Edward Bullivant, Cox: Henry Gilbert, Emerg: Stanley Ernest Elder, Cch: George Upward

3rd Adelaide University - Bow: John Thomas Byrne, 2: Rupert Dufty Heggarton, 3: Edward Clyde Padman, 4: Julian Dove Connor, 5: Charles Digby Halcomb, 6: Walter Leslie Stuart, 7: George Conway Dow, Str: William Hay Gosse, Cox: Cecil Beaumont Marryatt, Cch: William Reynolds Bayly

< previous 1896

> next 1898

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management