Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1962 Australian University Championships— Nepean River, Penrith NSW

The Championships were conducted on the 3 mile course at Penrith on 26th May. Again seven universities competed.


Men's Scull

Time: Not known
Margin: 2 feet

1st University of Western Australia - David Walker
2nd University of NSW - William Hatfield
3rd Melbourne University - Christopher Hazzard

Men's Eight

Time: 15 mins 30 secs
Margin: 3/4 length

1st Sydney University - Bow: David Coles, 2: Alan Ashburner, 3: Dennis Rowe, 4: John Matheson, 5: Jorgen Neilsen, 6: John McGill, 7: Jim Ritchie, Str: David P Lynch, Cox: Reg Smith, Cch: Eric Longley
2nd Melbourne University - Str: Chester S Keon Cohen

Other competing crews:
Adelaide University - Bow: Jurgen Chominsky, 2: William Ronald Giles, 3: Dean E Clayton, 4: I H Quigley, 5: Anthony J Milln, 6: Philip Woodroofe, 7: John Oliver Brook, Str: A J Benny, Cox : M Shearer, Cch: Roger Leach
University of Queensland - Str: L J Warren
University of Tasmania - Str: Ian R Winter
University of Western Australia - Str: Arnold Drok
University of New South Wales - Bow: Brian Thorpe, 2: Don Curchod, 3: Warren Firkin 4: Robert Sutton, 5: Ray Lawson, 6: Ross Downie, 7: William Hatfield, Str: Wayne Young, Cox: Eric Wilson, Cch: Allan R Callaway

< previous 1961

> next 1963

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management