Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1902 Australian University Championships— Port River Adelaide SA

The Port River got all three crews competing again with Melbourne taking an easy victory over the 3 mile course from Sydney then Adelaide. The race was conducted 14th June. The course was reported as being rough with a strong tail breeze.


Men's Eight

Time: 16 mins 44 secs
3 lengths
2 lengths

1st Melbourne University - Bow: John Arthur Hopkins Sherwin, 2: Alfred Arthur Hunt, 3: Marcus Bell, 4: Walter StG Sproule, 5: C R Kirkby, 6: Reginald J Lewis, 7: John Alston Wallace, Str: Henry Joseph Whiting, Cox: Kenneth Stuart Cross, Cch: Thomas Crosthwaite

2nd Sydney University - Bow: Bernard T Styles, 2: John C Close, 3: James W Heaslop, 4: Robert S Murray-Prior, 5: Lancelot E Woodcock, 6: Robert S Reid, 7: Joseph Coen, Str: Harold O Lethbridge, Cox: John K Osborne, Cchs: Allan C Purves, Herbert W Kendall and Stanley A Malin

3rd Adelaide University - Bow: Charles Lewis Jessop, 2: Lionel Wykeham Hayward, 3: Norman William Jolly, 4: Francis Gladstone Cowan, 5: Charles Augustus Edmunds, 6: Alfred Francis Stokes, 7: Melville Birks, Str: Charles Townshend Hargrave, Cox: Ronald Nickels Finlayson, Cch: Rev Charles Edmund Doudney


Melbourne University

Back row: A Sherwin, W S Sproule, J A Wallace, R L Lewis, M Bell
Front row: A A Hunt, T Crosthwaite, K S Cross, J H Whiting, C R Kirkby

< previous 1901

> next 1903

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management