Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1896 Australian University Championships— Lower Yarra River Melbourne VIC

The weather conditions on 2nd May were stormy and difficult - too difficulty indeed for the home crew who sank. The Argus reported that "they got ashore, and, having emptied their boat, rowed up the river to their boathouse." The crew from Adelaide won by 6 lengths to Sydney over a 3 mile course in the strong head breeze.


Men's Eight

Time: 20 mins 41 secs
Margin: 6 lengths

1st Adelaide University - Bow: Julian Augustus Roman Smith, 2: Francis John Douglas, 3: Edward Clyde Padman, 4: James Atkinson Bonnin, 5: Charles Digby Halcomb, 6: Bronte Smeaton, 7: Henry Simpson Newland, Str: William Hay Gosse, Cox: Cecil Beaumont Marryatt, Cch: Steve Fairbairn

2nd Sydney University - Bow: Alfred C Millard, 2: Norman W Kater, 3: Henry Twynan, 4: Henry J Deane, 5: George A More, 6: John B Jones, 7: Herbert W Kendall, Str: Allan C Purves, Cox: Harold W Weigall

3rd Melbourne University - Bow: Hyam (Harold) G M Brasch, 2: Thomas Crossthwaite, 3: Ernest D O'Donnell, 4: A Withington, 5: Herbert Alfred Jackson, 6: Donald Clive Morrison, 7: Harold A C Irving, Str: Hugh Edward Bullivant, Cox: G Beamish

< previous 1895

> next 1897

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management