Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1895 Australian University Championships— Port River Adelaide SA

The South Australians were again unable to win on their home soil over a 3 mile course. Sydney won for the second year in succession with another strong win over Melbourne. The race was held on 11th May 1895.

The race was not withourt controversy. The Brisbane Courier reported: The Adelaide crew finished second but as they inexcusably fouled the Victorians the latter were awarded second place.


Men's Eight

Time: 15 mins 45 secs
Margin: 6 lengths

1st Sydney University - Bow: Rowan P Hickson, 2: Herbert W Kendall, 3: Charles T Russell, 4: John B Jones, 5: George A Vivers, 6: David Cowan, 7: C Trevor Jones, Str: Montague C Chubb, Cox: Harold W Weigall, Cch: Vesian B MacDermott

2nd Melbourne University - Bow: Joseph Champion, 2: Richard Percy Bell, 3: Thomas Crossthwaite, 4: John Hogan, 5: C W Morrisey, 6: William Boyd, 7: Donald Clive Morrison, Str: Harold A C Irving, Cox: Clive Strong Galbraith

3rd Adelaide University - Bow: Rupert Walter Hornabrook, 2: Francis John Douglass, 3: Henry Simpsom Newland, 4: Bronte Smeaton, 5: Charles Digby Halcomb, 6: Julian Augustus Roman Smith, 7: Gilbert Harvey Bray, Str: William Hay Gosse, Cox: Egbert Percy "Bertie" Little, Cch: Rev Henry "Jingles" Girdlestone

< previous 1894

> next 1896

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management