Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1954 Australian University Championships— Swan River Perth WA

The Championships were conducted over a two mile course on the Swan River on 5th June 1954.


Men's Scull

Time: Unknown
Margins: 5 lengths & 15 lengths

1st Sydney University - B D Adams
2nd University of Western Australia - Eddie N Maslen
3rd Melbourne University - Hugh F Smith

Men's Eight

Time: 11 mins 38 secs
Margins: 1 1/3 length, 1 length & 4 lengths
2 miles

1st Melbourne University - Bow: Mac D G Murray, 2: Ian E Douglas, 3: John R Colville, 4: W Michael Somerville, 5: John A Hunt, 6: Stuart N Johns, 7: Adrian C Monger, Str: Clive J Smith, Cox: Richard G Hyett, Cch: David R Salmon
2nd University of Western Australia - Bow: J Hanrahan, 2: Jerry Collis-Bird, 3: Barry Ninham, 4: Terry Davies, 5: Barry Purser, 6: R Pearse, 7: Mick Carrigg, Str: Richard H Kernot, Cox: R Walters, Cch: Dr Gordon Barrett-Hill
3rd Sydney University - Bow: B Sundstrup, 2: A Davis, 3: B Shepherd, 4: D Wilson, 5: C Lees, 6: J Warden, 7: D Johnston, Str: James Kennaway, Cox: J Wilcox, Cch: Frank Nichols
4th Adelaide University - Bow: Christopher John Cooper, 2: Philip Llewelllyn, Nash, 3: Graeme Sorby Adams, 4: John Francis Maclure Lea, 5: Jonathan Yeatman Hancock, 6: Michael Sydney Talbot Hobbs, 7: Peter James Stedman Burns, Str: John Salisbury Jose, Cox: Robert "Bob" Ley Hodge, Emerg: Geoff Morley, Cch: Jock G Gosse.

The West Australian attributed the win to the weight advantage of the Melbourne University crew. The paper reported that: "The heavier Melbourne crew had enough stamina to hold off a strong challenge from the WA crew in the closing stages of the two mile race." Steering errors 3/4 mile out from the start also hampered the WA crew when they were in the lead.

The Adelaide Advertiser reported that the Adelaide crew's coxswain had lost his voice and so communicated with the crew via a bell.

Men's eight

1954 Melbourne University Crew

Back row: I E Douglas (2), W M Somerville (4), R G Hyett (cox), J R Colville (3), M D G Murray (bow). Front row: S N Johns (6), C J Smith (str), D R Salmon (cch), A C Monger (7), J A Hunt (5)

< previous 1953

> next 1955

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management