Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

1966 Australian University Championships— Murray River, Mannum SA

These Championships were conducted on 28th May after no racing taking place in 1965.

Monash won it's first Championship at this regatta with a win in the sculls.

These Championships were also important for the first entries from the Australian National University and also Newcastle University.


Men's Sculls

Time: Not known
Margin: 20 lengths

1st Monash University - Peter H Hoban
2nd University of Queensland - Michael J Reynolds
3rd Australian National University - Kerry Jelbart
4th University of Western Australia - John Yuille
5th Sydney University - Christopher Morgan

Men's Eight

Time: 16:10
Margin: 2 lengths

1st University of Tasmania - Str: Chris King
2nd University of New South Wales - Bow: John Shanahan, 2: Adrian Membrey, 3: Gary Khan, 4: Robert Drury, 5: Richard Crauford, 6: Jim Brennan, 7: Mike McGlynn, Str: Robert Hearn, Cox: unknown, Cch: Wim Sirks
3rd Melbourne University - Bow: James McMeckan, 2: Ross Robson, 3: William Stokes, 4: Neill Tweedle, 5: John Harry, 6: Brian Keon-Cohen, 7: Peter Martin, Str: Paul L Renouf, Cox: John Henry, Cch: G Harvey Nicholson

Other competitors:
Monash University - Bow: Owen Harris, 2: John Blanch, 3: Euan Luff, 4: Lawrence Stokes, 5: Simon Holland, 6: P Christopher Dane, 7: Paul Espie, Str: Steve R Bennett, Cox: David Cross
Sydney University - Bow: T Tolley, 2: David Waugh, 3: P Sevier, 4: T Farebrother, 5: David Barling, 6: Chris Glynn, 7: Doug Burrell, Str: Phil Bookallil, Cox: Vin Bettington, Cch: Eric O Longley
University of Queensland - Str: Ian Revie, Cch: Neil Marsh
Newcastle University - Str: William Hugh Sweetland
University of Western Australia - Str: Dennis Gillespie
Adelaide University- Bow: J R Walker, Rodney F Elleway, 3: Dean E Clayton, 4: John H Sedgley, 5: R C Nicholls, 6: Wyatt Rodedric “Jack" Hume, 7: Francis Percy Nolan, Str: Barry P Southcott, Cox: Anthony Francis Johnson

Men's Lightweight Four

Time: 6:58
Margin: 1 length

1st Adelaide University - Bow: Henry S Newland, 2: Richard Bonnin, 3: David Brooks, Str: B Rob Gordon, Cox: Peter Taylor, Cchs: Bill Wallace and Cyril Ellis
2nd Sydney University - Bow: Gordon Rich, 2: Phil Sharp, 3: George Bawtree, Str: Phil Titterton, Cox: Paul Satchell, Cch: John Matheson
3rd Melbourne University - Bow: Brian Speed, 2: Stewart Peters, 3: Michael Dalling, Str: Peter H Nicholson, Cox: Richard Kendall, Cch: Keith Bilney

The victorious Adelaide University crew at Mannum
Back row: Peter Taylor (Cox), Rob Gordon (Str), Richard Bonnin (2), Bill Wallace and Cyril Ellis (Cchs)
Front row: Henry Newland (Bow), David Brooks (3)

Other competitors:
University of Western Australia - Str: Robert M Rowell
University of Queensland - Str: Michael O'Shea, Cch: Bill Burbidge
University of New South Wales - Str: Jim Kornmehl
Newcastle University - Str: William Hugh Sweetland
Australian National University - Bow: Christopher Lee, 2: Peter Bunderson, 3: Peter Newson, Str: Richard Stark, Cox: John Harker, Cch: Christopher May
Monash University - Bow: Bruce A Lean, 2: Edward A Morgan, 3: Andrew J P Jones, Str: Robert S Searle, Cox: Peter R Muskovick, Cch: Paul Harding

Australian National University Lightweight Four
Christopher Lee (bow), Richard Stark (stroke), Peter Newsom (3), Peter Bundesen (2), John Harker (cox) 

< previous 1964

> next 1967

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management