Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

The Harvey Nicholson Trophy for Men's Four, Australian University Championships

This event is named after G Harvey Nicholson, the famous Melbourne University Boat Club President (22 years), Coach and University Championship advocate. Harvey also successfully coached numerous MUBC crews at these Championships with an emphasis on miles trained - his crews were always fit.

Harvey was a star athlete at school captaining rowing and athletics at his school, Scotch College. He was awarded a blue in athletics and skiing but injured himself playing rugby which brought his elite sporting career to an end. He commenced his coaching career somewhat earlier than he would have wanted.

Australian Universities' Men's Four Championship
Year First Second Third Fourth Fifth Sixth
1985 University of NSW University of WA Melbourne      
1986 Deakin Adelaide Flinders ANU Monash Melbourne
1987 Adelaide Monash New South Wales Melbourne    
1988 Adelaide Monash NSW      
1989 Adelaide Melbourne NSW LaTrobe Sydney  
1990 Queensland Adelaide Melbourne LaTrobe New England Deakin
1991 Adelaide Sydney Queensland      
1992 NSW LaTrobe Queensland      
1993 NSW          
1994 LaTrobe Ballarat Sydney      
1995 UTS Adelaide RMIT      
1996 UTS          
1997 Melbourne UTS Adelaide ACU Queensland Sydney
1998 RMIT          
2000 Curtin Queensland Ballarat ANU Monash Melbourne
2001 UTS NSW Ballarat RMIT Canberra Melbourne
2002 Queensland UTS Sydney RMIT New South Wales Tasmania - Hobart
2003 Queensland UTS Western Australia Sydney Melbourne ADFA
2004 Melbourne Sydney Queensland AMC Western Australia Newcastle
2005 Sydney Melbourne Queensland Western Australia NSW ANU
2006 Melbourne Sydney Adelaide Macquarie New South Wales ANU
2007 Sydney Melbourne Macquarie Queensland Western Australia Defence Force Academy
2008 Queensland Sydney Melbourne ACPE ANU UNSW
2009 Melbourne Sydney Queensland Western Australia Adelaide ANU
2010 Sydney New South Wales Curtin Western Australia Adelaide Monash
2011 Melbourne ANU New South Wales Adelaide Sydney UTS
2012 Sydney ANU Melbourne Adelaide Western Australia New South Wales
2013 Sydney Melbourne Adelaide ANU Monash New South Wales
2014 Sydney UTS Queensland Melbourne ANU Adelaide
2015 UTS Sydney Adelaide ANU Melbourne New South Wales

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management