Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

Bill Webb Trophy - Overall Men's Championship, Australian University Championships

The Amanda Young Rose Bowl

The Amanda Young Rose Bowl

Photo from Australian University Sport.

The Australian University Games web site provides the following information on this trophy:

Amanda Young was a member of the University of Western Australia Women's Eight crew. She competed at the 1997 Australian University Championship for Rowing in Penrith (hosted by UNSW). The day after the end of the Championship, one of the UNSW girls became ill with meningococcal meningitis (A deadly type of infection that poisons the blood. It is spread through mouth-to-mouth transmission).

Some of the rowers at the AUC were notified and were vaccinated against the disease. A week later Amanda contracted a severe case of meningococcal, and tragically she died less than 24 hours later, aged only 18. She had competed at the WA State Championships only the day before her death.

Murray Clarke (1997 AUC Convenor) commissioned this trophy to be named in Amanda's honour, and the University of NSW and the University of Western Australia donated the trophy in 1998.

Winners of the Amanda Young Rose Bowl

Awarded for the Overall Women's Championship

Year Winner
1998 Melbourne University
University of Technology - Sydney
2000 Melbourne University
2001 Sydney University
2002 Sydney University
2003 Sydney University
2004 Melbourne University
2005 Sydney University
2006 Melbourne University
2007 Sydney University
2008 Melbourne University
2009 Sydney University
2010 Sydney University
2011 Melbourne University
2012 Sydney University
2013 Melbourne University
2014 Sydney University
2015 Melbourne University







Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management