Scroll To Top
History of Australian University Championships Rowing

The Challenge Trophy for Women's Pair, Australian University Championships

The Challenge Trophy

The Challenge Trophy

This event commenced in 1998 and was a coxed event event until 1978.

In Intervarsity Women's rowing, the Lady Margaret Cup was the recognised goal of all competing fours. However it had long been felt that recognition should be paid to the Intervarsity Pairs Event, and as a result Mrs Anne Ellison of Sydney donated the"Challenge trophy' for perpetual competition.

This trophy was first presented for contest at the 1969 Women's Rowing Intervarsity hosted by Western Australia. Newcastle University won this event, the Universities of Western Australia and Sydney gaining second and third placing respectively. Subsequently, in the 1970 Intervarsity hosted by the University of Queensland, a close final was fought out between Queensland and Sydney University. Queensland winning by the narrowest of margins.

Interest in rowing for Mrs Ellison was a result of her daughter's involvement in the sport at University. One of the foundation members of the Sydney University Women's Rowing Club, Anne has been president for the past four years and both managed and rowed in the 1969 Intervarsity in Perth; a member of the successful four and also winning the sculls.

It was with great delight that Mrs Ellison learnt that A.S.S.A had accepted the offer of the Challenge Trophy, and even more rewarding that it should be competed for in such an exciting and skilled manner at its first presentation in 1969 in Perth.

Australian Universities' Women's Pair Championship
Year Winner Second Third Fourth Fifth Sixth
1968 Newcastle Sydney        
1969 Newcastle Western Australia Sydney      
1970 Queensland Sydney Other placings unknown      
1971 Western Australia Other placings unknown        
1972 Australian National University Other placings unknown        
1973 Newcastle Other placings unknown        
1974 No race          
1975 Western Australia Other placings unknown        
1976 Monash Other placings unknown        
1977 Sydney Other placings unknown        
1978 Melbourne Sydney Western Australia      
1979 Melbourne Sydney Other placings unknown      
1980 LaTrobe Melbourne Other placings unknown      
1981 Monash Western Australia Sydney      
1982 Sydney Monash        
1983 Australian National University Sydney Melbourne      
1984 Monash Melbourne Adelaide Deakin    
1985 Adelaide Monash Queensland      
1986 Adelaide New South Wales Sydney Macquarie    
1987 New South Wales Sydney Macquarie      
1988 Australian National University Queensland Tasmania      
1989 Melbourne Sydney        
1990 Australian National University Queensland Melbourne New South Wales Adelaide  
1991 Australian National University Queensland Tasmania      
1992 Melbourne Canberra Sydney      
1993 Adelaide New South Wales Sydney      
1994 Adelaide Western Australia Monash      
1995 Melbourne ADFA        
1996 UTS          
1997 UTS Queensland ADFA Melbourne Sydney  
1998 UTS          
2000 Melbourne RMIT UTS Macquarie NSW Sydney
2001 Canberra RMIT Melbourne Sydney Adelaide  
2002 Sydney Melbourne UTS New South Wales Adelaide ANU
2003 Sydney UTS Melbourne NSW    
2004 UTS Victoria Melbourne Macquarie Sydney NSW
2005 Canberra Sydney UTS NSW Macquarie Western Australia
2006 Melbourne Deakin Monash New South Wales Macquarie Sydney
2007 Melbourne Western Australia Sydney New South Wales Queensland Macquarie
2008 Sydney Melbourne ACPE Canberra ANU  
2009 Sydney Queensland Melbourne Adelaide ANU Canberra
2010 Sydney Western Australia        
2011 Sydney Melbourne Western Australia ANU Adelaide  
2012 Sydney ANU UTS Western Australia    
2013 Sydney Newcastle ANU New South Wales Melbourne  
2014 Melbourne Sydney Griffith Adelaide New South Wales South Australia
2015 Melbourne Queensland Griffith ANU Sydney Monash






Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management