Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1971 Interstate Championships

Women's: 17 Apr 1971, Nepean River NSW
Men's: 24 Apr 1971, Canning River WA

Photos 1971 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1971 programme

1971 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

SA returned to the Women's Interstate Championships but their crews were well outclassed by the other crews.

Heats, repechages and finals format was again used for the Men's Interstate Championships.

83rd Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Time: 5:54.4
Margin 1/2 length

1st VIC – Bow: Graeme H Boykett, 2: Eric Vahl Meyer, 3: David G Douglas, 4: David M Michelmore, 5: David B Bishop, 6: Will J Baillieu, 7: John G McKeand, Str: Kerry P Jelbart, Cox: Adrian Maginn, Cch: Roger L Moore, Emerg: T A Lawrence Stokes & Will G Magennis, Manager: Ken McConville
2nd SA – Bow: I D Munro, 2: N A Button, 3: William E Hay, 4: Michael J Lohmeyer, 5: Michael G Page, 6: Rod F Elleway, 7: Brian J Richardson, Str: William Dankbaar, Cox: Geoff A Worth, Emergs: P A Cronin & M N Jeffries, Cch: Graham D Coldwell, Mgr: Don Baulderstone
3rd NSW – Bow: Michael D Morgan, 2: Bryan F Curtin, 3: Malcolm C Shaw, 4: Philip C Wilkinson, 5: John E Clarke, 6: Ian J McWhirter, 7: Lindsay B Freeman, Str: Richard M Reddel, Cox: Alan G Grover, Emerg: Gary M Pearce, Cch: Lance Robinson. Mgr: Ken R Henson
4th TAS – Bow: Victor Gibson, 2: Roger W Manton, 3: Tim McKay, 4: Reg Free, 5: Stephen Hawkins, 6: J Taplin, 7: Geoff Mason, Str: Chris King, Cox: Frank Andrews, Emergs: Adrian Marshall & S Chrost, Cch: J Verney
QLD eliminated in repechage – Bow: T Brook, 2: Dane Amos, 3: John Bigg, 4: Allan Slean, 5: Geoffrey Lloyd-Jones, 6: Rod Purvis, 7: Malcolm Ford, Str: John Pressler, Cox: K Stokes, Emerg: Mel Slean, Cch: R Berry Brown, Mgr: Nev Cullen
WA eliminated in repechage – Bow: Rodney V Whittaker, 2: John Vos, 3: W (Bill) J Davies, 4: Rod Q Cooper, 5: Murray S McHenry, 6: Berry Durston, 7: Peter N Le Souef, Str: Nick R M Garrett, Cox: Terry Scook, Emergs: Gavin Jenner & Gino A Menchetti, Cch: Ken Grant

Finish of the King's Cup

E1: 1st SA, 2nd TAS, 3rd WA
E2: 1st NSW, 2nd VIC, 3rd QLD
R: 1st VIC, 2nd TAS, 3rd WA, 4th QLD
Final: 1st VIC, 2nd SA, 3rd NSW, 4th TAS

After a false start, the restarted race saw SA take the lead and control a large part of the race. At the 1500 metre mark, SA led by 1.5 seconds. However it was to be thrilling finish between VIC, SA and NSW. VIC placed a well timed sprint which demoralised the tiring SA crew and enabled them to take the lead and the Championship. NSW were closely following SA.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Time: 7.31.8
Margin 2.6 secs

1st SA – Norman V Talbot
2nd VIC – Ken Leach
3rd NSW – Islay Lee
4th WA – Terrence McNair
TAS eliminated in repechage– Edward Hale

Finish of the President's Cup

E1: 1st WA, 2nd SA
E2: 1st NSW, 2nd VIC, 3rd TAS
R: 1st SA, 2nd VIC, 3rd TAS
Final: 1st SA, 2nd VIC, 3rd NSW, 4th WA

Norm Talbot was the first South Australian to win the Sculling Championship. It was also the first attempt at this event by Ted Hale who became a regular competitor in the event for the next decade. It is also interesting to note that the first and second placed scullers came through the repechage. Furthermore, all three men's Championship winners won their respective repechages.

Men's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Penrith Cup

Time: 6.38.0
Margin: 0.3 secs

1st VIC – Bow: Andrew G McKinley, 2: Doug E Webb, 3: George Xouris, Str: T Campbell Johnston, Cox: Robert England, Emerg: Alan L Hart, Cch: Mark A Schapper
2nd SA – Bow: Colin J Smith, 2: Vaughan Bollen, 3: Robert M Cooper, Str: Luigi Lippis, Cox: Brenton Parsons, Emergs: William S Moody & G L Footer, Cch: Robert Russell
3rd NSW – Bow: Pat D Hannan, 2: Colin B Bullard, 3: Richard F Hunt, Str: Terrence R Maher, Cox: Stephen J Purkis, Emerg: Ron McConville, Cch: Bert Harding
4th WA – Bow: Paul Bezic, 2: Howard Turner, 3: John Pierce, Str: Roy Loftus, Cox: Stephen Barlow, Cch: Robert J Brealey
QLD eliminated in repechage – Bow: John Devlin, 2: Tim O'Connor, 3: Peter Bennett, Str: Peter Ferrari, Cox: Russell Christofis, Cch: Syd Rodgers

Finish of the Penrith Cup

E1: 1st NSW, 2nd WA
E2: 1st SA, 2nd QLD, VIC disqualified
R: 1st VIC, 2nd WA, 3rd QLD
Final: 1st VIC, 2nd SA, 3rd NSW, 4th WA

A breakage in the first 100 metres caused the race to be restarted. In the restart, VIC led and was never headed throughout the race. In typical lightweight racing, it was tight throughout with a finishing margin of 0.3 seconds.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1000m
Time: 4.10.2
Margins: 1/3 & 8 lengths

1st NSW – Bow: Judith Perry, 2: Joan Lake, 3: Pat Cree, Str: Evelyn Gardiner, Cox: Kevin Hollingworth, Cch: H Mervyn Perry
2nd VIC - Bow: Maree Cox, 2: Sandra Deer, 3: Betty Gawthorne, Str: Pat Oddy, Cox: Rod Florence, Cch: Lance Gallagher
3rd QLD – Bow: Ann Finucan, 2: Kay Crompton, 3: Sonia Whitton, Str: Laura Finucan, Cox: Robert Walker, Cch: Jim Finucan
4th South Australia - Bow: C Motley, 2: C Bonnett, 3: P Vale, Str: B Mattsson, Cox: N Clark, Cch: B Mattsson

NSW got a fast start and went out to over a length lead by the 250 metre mark. Victoria then started pegging back NSW through the second 500 metres but NSW held off the challenge to win in a close finish with VIC second and QLD well back.

New Women's Team

Back row: Judy Perry, Joan Lake, Kevin Hollingworth (Cox), Betty Spurling (Manager), Pat Cree, Evelyn Gardiner. Front row: Anne Ellison, Mervyn Perry (Coach), Kay Inkster

Women's Interstate Sculling Championship–The Nell Slatter Trophy

Distance: 1000m
Time: 4.42.0
Margins: 8 & 3/4 length

1st VIC – Val Bertrand
2nd QLD – Shirley Graham
3rd NSW – Jeanette Cameron

Val Bertram receives the Victoria Cup

Val Bertrand led all the way and won easing up by eight lengths from Shirley Graham, with Jeannette Cameron 3/4 length back in third place.

Women's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Victoria Cup

Distance: 1000m

Time: 4.21.2
Margins: 1 1/4 & 3/4 length

1st NSW – Bow: Judith Perry, 2: Kaye Inkster, 3: Anne Ellison, Str: Evelyn Gardiner, Cox: Kevin Hollingworth, Cch: Mervyn Perry
2nd VIC - Bow: Rae Wheeler, 2: Helen Murnane, 3: Trudy Van Rooy, Str: June Thorne, Cox: Kath Suhr, Cchs: Roy Scutcheon & Kath Suhr
3rd QLD – Bow: J Axam, 2: C Taylor, 3: L Brown, Str: S Glass, Cox: Mr Peter Axam
4th SA - Bow: Elaine Guterres, 2: G Johnson, 3: J Stephen, Str: J Jepson, Cox: N Clark, Cch: N Mattsson

NSW led all the way to win by 1 1/4 lengths from VIC with QLD 3/4 length back in third place. NSW were first to move out and held 1/4 length lead from the titleholder VIC with QLD and SA following. At the half way mark NSW still maintained its lead but QLD had moved into second place and began to challenge the leader. With 200 meters to go, NSW put on an extra effort, drew away from the opposition and won comfortably. VIC and QLD fought out the minor placings with VIC gaining second positon.

Finish of the Victoria Cup


  • Regatta program and result sheets
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual reports
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management