Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1972 Interstate Championships

Men's: 4 Mar 1972, Huon River TAS
Women's: 15 Apr 1972, Lake Burley Griffen ACT

Photos 1972 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1972 programme

1972 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

The weather conditions for the Men's Interstate Championships were very bad for the heats and moderated into a strong head wind for the finals.

84th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Time: 6:53.4
Margins: 6.1 & 2.3 secs

1st NSW – Bow: Malcolm C Shaw, 2: Gary M Pearce, 3: John E Clarke, 4: Robert D Paver, 5: Richard A Curtin, 6: Ian J McWhirter, 7: Michael D Morgan, Str: Bryan F Curtin, Cox: Alan R Grover, Emergs: Robert A Shirlaw & Lindsay B Freeman, Cch: Alan R Callaway, Mgr: Harry Clare
2nd WA – Bow: Gavin J Jenner, 2: Gary J Dehring, 3: Laurie A Anderson, 4: Peter Shakespear, 5: Keith N Whyatt, 6: Ian D Hamilton, 7: Joe E Saunders, Str: George Xouris, Cox: Brian Tonkin, Emergs: John C Whitehead & Jeff Howard, Cch: Joe R Saunders, Mgr: Peter Maslin
3rd VIC – Bow: David B Bishop, 2: David M Michelmore, 3: Kerry P Jelbart, 4: Will J Baillieu, 5: John R Harry, 6: Graeme H Boykett, 7: Paul M Guest, Str: David Palfreyman, Cox: Adrian E Maginn, Emergs: David G A Douglas & Eric C Vahlmeyer, Cchs: David Boykett & Phil Cayzer, Mgr: Edward Woolcock
4th SA – Bow: Rod F Ellaway, 2: Michael J Lohmeyer, 3: Michael N Jeffries, 4: Michael G Page, 5: N A Button, 6: I S Munro, 7: Brian J Richardson, Str: William Dankbaar, Cox: Geoff Worth, Emerg: J Yates, Cch: Graham D Coldwell, Mgr: Ron G Lawrence
TAS eliminated in repechage– Bow: Chris King, 2: Wayne Newitt, 3: J Gunn, 4: R Howell, 5: Stephen Hawkins, 6: Adrian Marshall, 7: Geoff Mason, Str: Roger Manton, Cox: Frank Andrews, Emergs: Eric Miller, Stephen Spurling & Glen Hay, Cch: J Verney, Mgr: Roger Viney
QLD eliminated in repechage – Bow: John Bigg, 2: Geoffrey Lloyd-Jones, 3: Alan Zunker, 4: Robert Alexander, 5: Gary Uebergang, 6: Tim Conrad, 7: David Brook, Str: Malcolm Ford, Cox: Peter Axam, Emergs: James Alexander & Alan Slean, Cch: Berry Brown, Mgr: John Pressler

E1: 1st NSW, 2nd WA, 3rd VIC
E2: 1st SA, 2nd QLD, 3rd TAS
R: 1st VIC, 2nd WA, 3rd TAS
Final: 1st NSW, 2nd WA, 3rd VIC, 4th SA

NSW took the lead at the 500 metre mark and were never headed thereafter.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup


1st NSW – Islay Lee
2nd VIC – Ken Leach
3rd TAS – Edward Hale
4th SA – Norman V Talbot
WA eliminated in repechage – Terrence McNair
QLD eliminated in repechage – George Petlin

E1: 1st TAS, 2nd WA, 3rd SA
E2: 1st VIC, 2nd QLD, 3rd NSW
R: 1st NSW, 2nd SA, 3rd WA, 4th QLD
Final: 1st NSW, 2nd VIC, 3rd TAS, 4th SA

Ken Leach of Victoria led until 1700 metre mark but the fast finishing Islay Lee of NSW over ran him.

Men's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Penrith Cup


1st VIC – Bow: Alan L Hart, 2: Andrew G McKinley, 3: Jeff R Sykes, Str: T Campbell Johnston, Cox: Robert England, Emerg: Phil A Armitage, Cch: S Len Gladman
2nd NSW – Bow: Michael McReynolds, 2: Graeme Wearne, 3: Peter Stroud, Str: Pat Hannan, Cox: Ian Chessell, Emerg: Terry D Phillips, Cch: Richard E Tarlinton
3rd SA – Bow: Colin J Smith, 2: Vaughan Bollen, 3: Robert M Cooper, Str: Luigi Lippis, Cox: Brenton E Parsons, Emerg: Michael Eastaughffe, Cch: Robert J Russell
4th QLD – Bow: Howard Ward, 2: Richard Spencer, 3: Peter Walsh, Str: Roy (Chic) Graham, Cox: Alan Ebert, Emerg: Ian Duthie, Cch: Fred Jaques
TAS eliminated in repechage – Bow: Tom Otte, 2: Roger Guest, 3: Bruce Potter, Str: David Graney, Cox: M Graney, Emergs: John Laskey & T Martin, Cch: David Poulson

E1; 1st NSW, 2nd QLD, 3rd TAS
E2: 1st VIC, 2nd SA
R: 1st SA, 2nd QLD, 3rd TAS
Final: 1st VIC, 2nd NSW, 3rd SA, 4th QLD

Victoria led all the way to win comfortably.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1000m
Time: 3.56.1
Margins: 2 & 1 lengths

1st VIC – Bow: Maree Cox, 2: Sandra Deer, 3: Betty Gawthorne, Str: Sue Bartlett, Cox: G Warren, Cch: Lance Gallagher
2nd NSW – Bow: Sue McVicar, 2: Linda Napthali, 3: Evelyn Adams, Str: Pamela Murray, Cox: Robert Arentz, Cch: John Hanson
3rd QLD – Bow: C Taylor, 2: J Axam, 3: L Brown, Str: S Glass, Cox: Mr Peter Axam, Cch: Mr D Dahl
4th SA
5th ACT - Bow: Elaine Temby, 2: Judy Burdack, 3: Jeannie Dennis, Str: Mandy Miller, Cox: Will Jamieson, Cch: Robert Heatly

The Fours Championship included ACT represented by a school crew from Canberra Grammar. Unfortunately they were outclassed in this competition. The Canberra Times 15-4-1972 p.38 recorded the situation as follows: A schoolgirl crew comprising Jeannie Dennis, Mandy Miller, Judy Burdack and Elaine Temby, all sixth formers at Canberra Grammar, will represent ACT in the Australian Fours Championship to be rowed on Yarramundi Reach, Lake Burley Griffin, today. The crew was formed only a month ago and has had only one competitive race, finishing a creditable second behind an ANU four and ahead of two Watson High crews in a special event during the Uriarra Cup program three weeks ago. The girls are being coached by Robert Heatly, a member of the successful Canberra Grammar eight which won the Head-of-the-Lake last Saturday. They will be coxed by the Grammar eight cox Will Jamieson.

Women's Interstate Sculling Championship–The Nell Slatter Trophy

Time: 4.26
Margin: 2 feet

1st NSW – Elizabeth Cato, Cch: Howard Croker
2nd VIC – Valmai Bertrand
3rd QLD – Shirley Graham

In the Sculling Championship, New Zealander Elizabeth Cato, rowing for NSW, came from behind to win. Shirley Graham was subsequently selected to compete at the 1972 European Championships.

Women's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Victoria Cup

Time: 3min 57 secs
Margin: 5 lengths

1st VIC – Bow: Megan Tonkin, 2: Gail Johnstone, 3: Valmai Bertrand, Str: June Thorne, Cox: Diane Edge, Cchs: Roy Scutcheon & Kath Suhr.
2nd NSW – Bow: Karen Law, 2: Judy Partridge, 3: Judy Stephen, Str: Christine Cashman, Cox: Kevin Hollingworth, Cch Rita Goldie, Emerg: Rose Marie Hillier
3rd SA - Bow: Elaine Guterres, 2: Judy Jepson, 3: B Tam, Str: J Whitehorn, Cox: A C Davis, Cch: AC Davis

The Lightweight Four Championshiop was an easy win to Victoria who led all the way.


  • Regatta program and result sheets
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual reports
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management