Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1975 Interstate Championships

Men's: 18 Apr 1975, Lake Kurwongbah QLD
Women's: 10 May 1975, Canning River WA

Photos 1975 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1975 programme

1975 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

87th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Time: 6:05.1
Margins: 5.8 & 4.2 secs

1st NSW – Bow: Ian Clubb, 2: Malcolm Shaw, 3: Stephen Newnham, 4: Rob Paver, 5: Tim Conrad, 6: Edward O'Loughlin, 7: Ian Luxford, Str: Chris Shinners, Cox: Joe Donnelly, Cch: Maurie Grace, Emerg: Brian Weir
2nd SA – Bow: Grant Duncan, 2: Henry Duncan, 3: Christopher Prescott, 4: Tim Willoughby, 5: Michael Page, 6: William Dankbaar, 7: Mark Hebblewhite, Str: Athol MacDonald, Cox: Brenton Parsons, Cch: Rod Elleway, Emergs: Matthew Marquis & Charles Lott
3rd VIC – Bow: Ian G Farran, 2: Stephen B Jelbart, 3: Andrew J Withers, 4: Dallas English, 5: Bill G Magennis, 6: Brian J Richardson, 7: Will R Liley, Str: Kerry P Jelbart, Cox: David B England, Emergs: Bruno Romanin & Murray C Ross, Cch: Paul Guest, Mgr: John Jopling
4th TAS – Bow: Victor Gibson, 2: Bryan Needham, 3: Peter Shield, 4: Eric Miller, 5: Paul Myler, 6: J Schofield, 7: Wayne Newitt, Str: Simon Dean, Cox: Frank Andrews, Cch: Dr Brian Palmer, Emergs: Stephen Spurling & Michael Partridge
WA eliminated in repecharge – Bow: Peter Bongiascia, 2: Stewart Mitchell, 3: Rob Jewkes, 4: Gavin Lee, 5: John Hall, 6: Paul Duckett, 7: David Glendinning, Str: Stephen Saunders, Cox: Craig Huxtable, Cch: Stan Omodei, Emergs: John Harris & Stewart Mitchell
QLD eliminated in repecharge – Bow: John Bigg, 2: Cass Sasnauskas, 3: Alan Zunker, 4: R Burgess, 5: B Zunker, 6: N Ross, 7: David Brook, Str: Alf Duval, Cox: J Ross, Cchs: Alf Duval & John Pressler, Emergs: Douglas Buchbach & Chris Lyndon

E1: 1st NSW, 2nd TAS, 3rd QLD
E2: 1st SA, 2nd VIC, 3rd WA
R: 1st VIC, 2nd TAS, 3rd WA
Final: 1st NSW, 2nd SA, 3rd VIC, 4th TAS

After a false start caused by SA, all crews got away well in the second start. NSW moved out to 2.2 second lead over VIC at the 500 metre mark. SA then challenged VIC to take second placing in the second 500 metres whilst at the same time NSW went yet further ahead to lead SA by 4.6 secs at the half way mark. NSW extended their lead to 5.8 seconds by the finish with SA second and VIC third.

The WA crew was more like a youth eight with many straight out of school. In fact Stuart Mitchell rowed in the 1977 WA youth eight two years later. In 1976 this crew was replaced by the powerful Joondalup crew with only Steve Saunders, Gavin Lee and Rob Jewkes surviving.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Time: 7.37.4
Margins: 7.3 and 2.5 secs

1st QLD – Robert Alexander
2nd NSW – Paul Rowe
3rd TAS – Edward O Hale
VIC eliminated in repechage – Peter Benjamin

E1: 1st TAS, 2nd NSW
E2: 1st QLD, 2nd VIC
R: 1st NSW, 2nd VIC
Final: 1st QLD, 2nd NSW, 3rd TAS

Bob Alexander made his move in the third 500 metres and took the lead from Paul Rowe. Bob Alexander was never headed after that point.

Men's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Penrith Cup

Time: 6.56.8
Margins 7.0 & 1.7 secs

1st VIC – Bow: Colin Smith, 2: Geoff Rees, 3: Andrew Michelmore, Str: Cam Johnston, Cox: Tim Frederico, Cch: Peter Philp, Emerg: Andrew McKinley
2nd NSW – Bow: John Bailey, 2: Terry Phillips, 3: Eric Carter, Str: Michael Phillips, Cox: Brian Casey, Cch: John StV Welch, Emerg: Peter Stroud
3rd SA – Bow: S Young, 2: R Widger, 3: D Yardley, Str: Vaughan Bollen, Cox Anthony Goldsworthy, Cch: Robert Russell:
4th WA – Bow: G Wayne Simmons, 2: Geoff Mitchell, 3: Michael Sasse, Str: Chris Curry, Cox: Michael Hart, Cch: Richard (Dick) Gard
QLD eliminated in repechage – Bow: Anthony Philbrick, 2: Gary Merritt, 3: Bruce Smart, Str: Robert Doyle, Cox: Andrew Price, Cch: Ray Bushell, Emerg: T Finn

E1: 1st VIC, 2nd WA, 3rd QLD
E2: 1st SA, 2nd NSW
R: 1st WA, 2nd NSW, 3rd QLD
Final: 1st VIC, 2nd NSW, 3rd SA, 4th WA

The Victorians, who were also the World Champion Lightweight Four, led from the start and won convincingly.

Men's Interstate Youth Eight Championship–The Noel F Wilkinson Trophy

Time: 4.43.8
Margins 2.0 & 0.1 secs

1st VIC No 1– Bow: Andrew G Morrison, 2: Simon M Gillett, 3: Guy G Fairnie, 4: W Malcolm I Robertson, 5: P Andrew Cassidy, 6: I Andrew Steel, 7: Neil J Myers, Str: Don G Cooper, Cox: J Scott Sloane, Cch: David Ramage
2nd NSW No 2 – Bow: Adrian Blessington, 2: Rodney Maher, 3: Stephen Todd, 4: Peter Hermann, 5: Chris Oliviera, 6: David Andrews, 7: Andrew Nott, Str: Simon Wiadrowski, Cox: Stuart Carter, Cchs: Richard (Dick) Hille & Michael Morgan
3rd NSW No1 – Bow: J Wilcox, 2: W Meagher, 3: G Hogan, 4: J Magee, 5: M Shillington, 6: Anthony Curtin, 7: J Ryan, Str: M Chapman, Cox: M Kenny, Cch: Fr J Ramsey
4th TAS No 1 – Bow: R Morgan, 2: P Hansen, 3: C Canning, 4: T Davis, 5: P Beswick, 6: Paul Kitto, 7: Bruce Heron, Str: Stephen Spurling, Cox: M Baker, Cch: James Turner
5th QLD No 2 – Bow: R Ferguson, 2: P Russell, 3: C Winterbotham, 4: S Powell, 5: R Thompson, 6: B Foot, 7: Ralph Fench, Str: D Scott, Cox: A Price, Cch: Alan Bromiley
QLD No 1 eliminated in repechage – Bow: S Thompson, 2: P Austin, 3: P Unwin, 4: J Thompson, 5: D Wagner, 6: W Suffren, 7: C Todd, Str: G Burley, Cox: D Francis, Cch: D Jones
TAS No 2 eliminated in repechage – Bow: S Mount, 2: J Smith, 3: I Murrell, 4: D Dunbavin, 5: R Mount, 6: C Scanderenn, 7: J Dunbavin, Str: R Crawford, Cox: R Curtin, Cch: Dr R Walker
SA eliminated in repechage – crew not known but contained Nigel Winter, Alf Ransom and Clive Ansell.

E1: 1st TAS No 1, 2nd QLD No 2, 3rd TAS No 2, 4th NSW No 2
E2: 1st VIC, 2nd QLD No 1, 3rd NSW No 1
R: 1st NSW No 1, 2nd NSW No 2, 3rd QLD No 2, 4th QLD No 1, 5th TAS No 2
Final: 1st VIC, 2nd NSW No 2, 3rd NSW No 1, 4th TAS No 1, 5th QLD No 2

The Victorian crew led early and were never headed. However it was not an easy race with strong challenges from NSW No2. The final margin was 2 seconds.


Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1000m


1st VIC – Bow: Sally Harding,2: Viv Rowe, 3: Pam Murray, Str: Wendy John, Cox: Jan Coxhead, Cch: Jack Bennett
2nd NSW – Bow: Evelyn Adams, 2: Vicki Spooner, 3: Anne Eaton, Str: Jill Callan, Cox: S Edwards, Cch: Margaret Mackenzie
3rd WA - Bow: Jan Cargill, 2: Gwenda Bennetts, 3: Betty Gawthorne, Str: Glenda Brearley, Cox/Cch: Terry Scook
4th SA
5th ACT

The winning Victorian Four were all from YWCA and won comfortably. They were subsequently selected to represent Australia at the World Rowing Championships.

Women's Interstate Sculling Championship–The Nell Slatter Trophy


1st NSW – Cheryl Everson
2nd VIC – Mary Renouf
3rd SA - Elaine Guterres

Everson was only just in front at the 500 metre mark but powered away in the second half of the race.

Women's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Victoria Cup


1st NSW – Bow: Pauline Bellemore, 2: Jannet Pendleton, 3: Christine Higginbotham, Str: Tricia Hennessy, Cox: Terry O'Hanlon, Cch: Len McPherson
2nd WA - Bow: Helen Gardiner, 2: Anne Marie Loney, 3: Kay Dixon, Str: Marie Gibson, Cox: Veronica (Ronnie) Foley, Emergs: Sue Gaskin & Zora Brice
2nd SA
4th ACT

A dead heat for second place between WA and SA who close together throughout the race.


  • Regatta program and result sheets
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual reports
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management