Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1951 Interstate Championships

Women's: 28 Apr 1951, Yarra River VIC
Men's: 5 May 1951, Hamilton Reach Brisbane River QLD

Photos 1951 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1951 programme

1951 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

Organising Committee & Officials

Organising Committee: QARC
Chairman: John J Delahuntly
Secretary: Robert G Longmore
Treasurer: F Lou Poulgrain
Starter: N Goodwin, Ass Starter: J C Fraser
Umpire: G H Roy Gill
Judge: Lance W Trout
Despatch Stewards: Alf Lewis, S J Tierney, Len Eastman
Timekeepers: E E McCaskie & Rev M Henderson
Weight Steward: N L Mercer

63rd Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Distance: 3 miles
Time: 16.14.6
Margins: 1 1/2 & 1 1/2 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: Robert N Tinning, 2: Vic R Middleton, 3: Don R Palmer, 4: Nim Greenwood, 5: Ross L Selman, 6: Mervyn D Finlay, 7: Edward O G Pain, Str: Phil A Cayzer, Cox: Tom E M Chessell, Emergs: David R Anderson & Ernie W Chapman, Cch: Tom E M Chessell, Mgr: John R Winton, Selector: A B (Joe) Gould
2nd VIC - Bow: William L Wallace, 2: W Neville Howell, 3: Harry D Duncan, 4: David Olliff, 5: A G (Paddy) Barrett, 6: Warwick A Granowski, 7: Tom G Hoffman, Str: Robert R Aitken, Cox: W Max Bailey, Cch:Norman Cairnes, Emergs: William J Craig & Neil P Everist, Selectors: Jack South, Ron March & coach, Mgr: H E Butler
3rd WA - Bow: George Frizzell, 2: Paul T Travers, 3: R G (Bob) Semple, 4: Michael C Gray, 5: Don M Devenish, 6: Alec W Murphy, 7: Graham L Norton, Str: Don H Fraser, Cox: Terry Scook, Emerg: Norman J Golding, Cch: George E Rogers, Mgr: Jim R Sharples
4th TAS - Bow: Malcolm Will, 2: Brian A Clark, 3: R J Shield, 4: Robert R Boniwell, 5: William C Paul, 6: Ernie Roberts, 7: Robert J Clark, Str: Doug F Clark, Cox: David C Archer, Emerg: Frank L Heron, Cch: Ivan Short, Mgr: Chas T P Cooney
5th SA - Bow: A Smithson, 2: D Davies, 3: K Simmons, 4: R Partington, 5: John A Hill, 6: Keith L Coldwell, 7: Laurie Williamson, Str: Remo Morelli, Cox: A Davies, Emergs: R R Pike & J Lowcock, Cch: Jack Bollen, Mgr: Robert S Palmer
6th QLD - Bow: R P Mahony, 2: R F James. 3: Don H McClymont, 4: A T Lawson, 5: Jim M Dowrie, 6: T Wardrobe, 7: N F Holland, Str: J Nunan, Cox: D Bray, Emerg: I R Hinwood, Cch: Eric P Evers, Manager: Wilf B Mole

The NSW crew started very well and gained a substantial lead by the half way mark. However Victoria managed the rougher conditions better and slowly clawed back the margin to finish only a length and a half behind NSW.

NSW finish the Kings Cup in front of Victoria

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Time: 16.14.6
Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Margin: 8 lengths

1st NSW - Mervyn T Wood
2nd VIC - Ron V Rawlins
3rd QLD - Sid F Rogers

The conditions for the sculling race were appalling and reported as being "vile and it would take a vivid imagination to regard the race as a true test of sculling". However the quality of Wood prevailed over the conditions to take an easy win.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 3/4 Mile
Time: 4.48.6
Margins: 1 & 2 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: Fay Barnes, 2: Betty Uren, 3: Shirley Harrison, Str: Doris Collins, Cox: Lionel Robberds, Cch: Gordon Parry
2nd VIC
3rd QLD - Bow: Aileen Jarvis, 2: Hazel Parry, 3: Dorothy Christsen, Str: B Lister, Cox: M Shaw, Cch: Nev Cullen

The winning NSW crew hailed from Sydney Ladies' Rowing Club. The cox Lionel Robberds was from Leichhardt Rowing Club.


  • Regatta program
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual report
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management