Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1898 Intercolonial Championships

19 Nov, Bulimba Reach Brisbane River QLD

The starter for the eights championship was Dan McTaggart and the umpire J T Bell MLA.


22nd Men's Intercolonial Eight-Oared Championship

Distance: 2.75 mile
Time: 16.01
Margin: 1/2 length

1st VIC – Bow: J Blackburn, 2: C H Powell, 3: J L Nolan, 4: W Herbert T Davies, 5: H J Hughes, 6: William Potter, 7: J R Strong, Str: Alex B Sloan, Cox, J H Counihan, Cch: Dan Gregory, Average weight 11st 10lb.
2nd QLD – Bow: John A Cullinane, 2: F H Cameron, 3: A Young, 4: O Agar, 5: Noel H Drury, 6: T J Lyons, 7: S B Boland, Str: J B Arthur, Cox: R Burton, Cchs: Mr Collclough and Francis W "Winny" de Little. Average weight 11st 1lb.

The change in date to November was initiated by Queensland and agreed to by Victoria, the only other colony to participate. NSW could not agree to participate under rules other than the 1896 conference terms and again refused to particicpate. Victoria proposed a new clause whereby those who had raced for cash prizes in other sports before 1897 would not be caught by the new rule.

The race was intended to be raced on the Hamilton Reach but was deemed unrowable. Queensland led from the start but was overhauled by Victoria who won by half a length.

Men's Intercolonial Sculling Championship

Distance:2.75 Miles
Time: 22.02.0
Margin: 6 lengths

1st QLD no 1 – Alick Dennis
2nd QLD no 2 – Michael J Slack
3rd VIC - Edward Powell

The change in dates obviously did not suit the scullers with only Queensland and Victorian scullers competing. Dennis led at the start and maintained this until 1/2 mile from the finish when he opened up the lead to 6 lengths. Slack was not satisfied with the result against Dennis and challenged him to a race which he won on 25th March 1899.

Michael J Slack


  • The Victorian Oarsman by John Lang, published by Massina & Co 1919
  • Rowing in Queensland by Jack Pritchard published by Rowing Queensland 1995
  • Sydney Rows by Alan May published by Sydney Rowing Club 1970
  • Images from the Guerin collection

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management