Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1956 Interstate Championships

Women's: 14 Apr 1956, Parramatta River NSW
Men's: 4 May 1956, Lake Wendouree VIC

Photos 1956 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1956 programme

1956 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

Index to Results

A PDF copy of the 1956 men's regatta program can be found through this link.

Full definition photographs from these championships can be found on the Australian Rowing Images website.

Organising Committee & Officials

Organising Committee: Victorian Rowing Association
Starter: J P Gaskin, Ass Starter: A Hall
Umpires: Jack L Mounsey & S Wilton
Judges: H B Kirsch & T W L Cotton
Timekeepers: F W Peters & L J O'Dempsey
Clerks of Scales: Ron J March & A Heighway
Course Manager: Tom Rodda 

68th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Distance: 2000 metres
Time: 6.05.6
Margin: 3/4 length 

1st VIC - Bow: John Morganti, 2: David H Boykett, 3: A Michael H Aikman, 4: James G Howden, 5: Garth O V Manton, 6: H Neville Howell, 7: Adrian C Monger, Str: Brian Doyle, Cox: Neil Hewitt, Cch: Robert Aitken, Emergencies C Brian Dawes and John A Hunt, Selectors: Norman W Cairnes, Ron J March & coach, Mgr: Jack Coghlan
2nd NSW - Bow: William J Rodgers, 2: Bruce Cumming, 3: Ralfe Currall, 4: Fred Benfield, 5: Geoff Williamson, 6: David Anderson, 7: Erwin Eder, Str: Peter M Evatt, Cox: Lionel Robberds, Emerg: Peter Waddington & J Webster, Cch & Selector: Peter M Evatt, Mgr: W Howard Holden
3rd QLD - Bow: K Maher, 2: R Magnus, 3: James Kerr, 4: Fred Jaques, 5: Brian Dorrough, 6: A Douglas, 7: Robert (Bob) Barrett, Str: J Boyd, Cox: Ron Smithers, Emerg: B Norman, Cch: J Bolster, Manager: A "Gus" Green
4th WA - Bow: Jack Messer, 2: Don O'Brien, 3: Richard (Dick) Child, 4: Ken Roberts, 5: Milton Francis, 6: Allan Hall, 7: Don Ross, Str: Robert Semple, Cox: Terry Scook, Emerg: Brian Coughlan, Cch: Eddy Edwards, Mgr: Gordon M Edwards
SA eliminated in repechage - Bow: Ian Jamieson, 2: R Simpson, 3: Alistair St J Allen, 4: G Butterworth, 5: Doug Wiles, 6: Adrian Jones, 7: Cliff Graetz, Str: Anthony S Matthews, Cox: E Popcock, Emerg: G Brice, Cch: Jock G Gosse, Mgr: N M Collins
TAS eliminated in repechage - Bow: N Griffiths, 2: D Burke, 3: G Brooks, 4: J Fitzgerald, 5: R McQuilkan, 6: R Stephenson, 7: M Read, Str: R McMullen, Cox: J Colrain, Emerg: D McMullen & J Walker, Cch: Doug Clark, Mgr: S C Hammond 

The Victorian crew the King's Cup

Standing: Adrian Monger, James Howden, David Boykett, Fred Benfield
Seated: Michael Aikman, Neil Hewitt, Brian Doyle, Neville Howell, Garth Manton

The eights race was rowed over the Olympic distance of 2000 metres for the first time on the Olympic course at Ballarat. SA and Tasmania were eliminated in the repechages. In the final WA got the best start but Victoria took the lead off them quickly with both NSW and WA pressing closely. By the 1000 metres, Victoria had a 3/4 length lead from NSW. The NSW crew had a big effort through the third 500 metres to bridge the gap. This was repelled with 400 metres to go by the Victorians who won by 3/4 length.

E1: 1st NSW, 2nd SA, time 7:06.2, margin 4 lengths
E2: 1st WA, 2nd TAS, time 6:42.8, margin 0.5 canvas
E3: 1st VIC, 2nd QLD, time 6:36.4, margin 2.5 lengths
R: 1st QLD, 2nd TAS, 3rd SA, time 6:44.8, margins 3 and 7 lengths

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Distance: 2000 metres
Time: 7.27.8
Margin: 3 lengths 

1st NSW no 1- Stuart A Mackenzie
2nd NSW no 2 - Mervyn T Wood
3rd TAS - Graham Squires
4th WA No 1 - Gerry Hubbard
VIC eliminated in repechage- Don R Dudgeon
QLD eliminated in repechage - J Ken Goswell
WA No 2 eliminated in repechage - John G Rosser
SA eliminated in repechage - Peter Machin 

Stuart Mackenzie

The sculling race allowed several scullers from each State because it was the selection event for the 1956 Olympic Games. In the final, Hubbard lead early but was quickly taken by both Mackenzie and Wood. These two scullers then started a great struggle with Mackenzie leading by a length at the 1000 metre mark. Mackenzie then drew away to win by 3 lengths.

E1: 1st Wood, 2nd Machin, time 8:32.4, margin 2 lengths
E2: 1st Mackenzie, 2nd Rosser, 3rd Dudgeon, time 8:28.4, margins 1 and 4 lengths
E3: 1st Hubbard, 2nd Squires, 3rd Goswell, time: 8:12.2, margins 1.5 and 5 lengths
R: 1st Squires, 2nd Goswell, 3rd Machin, 4th Dudgeon, time 8:12.4, margins 3 and 4 lengths. No margin for last place. 

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 3/4 Mile
Time: 4.48.0

1st NSW - Bow: Noelene Watson, 2: Margaret Agnew, 3: Doreen Addison, Str: Pauline Thom, Cox: Lionel Robberds, Cch: George Neilson
2nd QLD - Bow: Joy Duval, 2: Althea Sue, 3: June Dunphy, Str: Val Weber, Cox: Mr Ken Walsh
3rd SA - Bow: M Leahy, 2: J Merrit, 3: L Schultz, Str: T Dyson, Cox: M Adams


  • Regatta program
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual report
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management