Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1948 Interstate Championships

24 Apr 1948, Derwent River Tas

Photos 1948 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1948 programme

1948 Programme Cover

60th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Distance: 3 miles
Time: 14.50.6
Margins: 11/2 & 1 length

1st NSW - Bow: William W Shepherd, 2: Doug Malligan, 3: Ken T Gee, 4: C William Winkworth, 5: Erwin E Eder, 6: Thomas Brennan, 7: Alex A Eddie, Str: Jack W Eddie, Cox: Edward B Healey, Emerg: Owen A Ruffels, Cch: R J Parkes, Mgr: Harold S Wilkes
2nd WA - Bow: G Richard Dempster, 2: Victor W Murray, 3: Arthur T Winstanley, 4: J G (Gil) Marsh, 5: John H Baird, 6: Jack E Jeffreys, 7: Graham L Norton, Str: Allan M Smith, Cox: Ken H Carrick, Emerg: Gordon M Andrews, Cch: George Orgill, Mgr: Jas A Child
3rd SA - Bow: A B Wellman, 2: A J McDonald, 3: McLeahy E Lawrie, 4: Jack Neville, 5: Remo Morelli, 6: Rex H Wallman, 7: Laurie S Goodenough, Str: Keith L Coldwell, Cox: L H Hannaford, Emergs: W H Nerlich & Jack H Bollen, Cch: Jack H Bollen, Mgr: Robert S Palmer
4th TAS - Bow: Ron Stewart, 2: Terry C Colman, 3: Pat Scanlon, 4: John Boniwell, 5: Brian Pitt, 6: L Seidenburg, 7: J Thureau, Str: J T Burnett, Cox: Tom A Darcey, Emergs: A Russell & M Leamey, Cch: D S Hughes, Mgr: J R Chant
5th QLD - Bow: Cliff Volzke, 2: L Lloyd-Jones, 3: N Christie, 4: N Wallace, 5: A Richardson, 6: E Rickert, 7: C Rickert, Str: Colin Zunker, Cox: Ron Clemence, Emerg: N Rehbein, Cch: Cecil Roebuck, Manager: F Lou Poulgrain
6th VIC - (Corio Bay RC) Bow: D R Bridges, 2: S V Rau, 3: R G Wilson, 4: S G Thomas, 5: G A Craven, 6: R B Barrow, 7: Tom G Hoffman, Str: Ian C Everist, Cox: David R Salmon, Coach: Albert B Bell, Emerg: Richard Boynton & Murray Christie, Mgr: H E Butler, Selectors: L J Thompson, W Ray B Todd and coach

King's Cup Presentation

Presentation of the King's Cup to NSW

The conditions were far from good with very rough water and a delayed start resulted. WA started well followed by Tasmania, SA and NSW. However the crew from the west went out too fast and after a mile started to slow allowing the NSW crew the opportunity to take the lead. At about half way, the Victorian crew was in a good position when the six man collapsed not once, but two times with a stomach illness. This took them out of contention. The Western Australians then challenged the NSW crew but were shaken off allowing a victory to NSW with WA second.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Distance: 21/2 miles
Time: 15.12.2
Margin: 7 lengths

1st NSW - Mervyn T Wood
2nd VIC - Ron V Rawlins
3rd TAS - Ian M Cook
4th QLD - Nev Cullen

The sculling race was another fine win to Merv Wood by seven lengths. Rawlins provided a good race for the first 11/2 miles before being outclassed.

Merv Wood, wife and child

Merv Wood congratulated by wife and child - from the Wood collection


  • Regatta program
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual report
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management