Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1965 Interstate Championships

Women's: 24 Apr 1965, Albert Park Lake VIC
Men's: 8 May 1965, Canning River WA

Photos 1965 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1965 programme

1965 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

The Men's Eights and Sculling Championships were run with heats, repechage and final.

Organising Committee & Officials

Organising Committee: Jack F Howson (Chairman), G Kriz (Secretary), William S Cooper, Robert C Hemery, Robert G Semple, J R Rogers, Ken H carrick, Ralph S Jeffreys, William R Burbidge, Jack E Jeffreys, Robert J Brearley

Starter: John McMeekin

Aligner: Gordon Edwards

Umpires: Jack E Jeffreys & Robert G Semple

Judges: A G (Gra) Rosser, Dr Jim W Pannell & A V Kirby

Timekeepers: R (Dick) Gard & A A Burbidge

Control: Ron Polglaze, E J Stuart & J McLaren

77th Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Time: 6:10.8
Margins 0.4 and 4.3 secs

1st NSW - Bow: Ian McWhirter, 2: Howard Croker, 3: Bruce Dickson, 4: Dennis Tutty, 5: Alf Duval, 6: Peter Dickson, 7: Errol Brazenall, Str: Brian Denny, Cox: Brian Thomas, Emerg: Gordon McWhirter, Cch: Owen Ruffels
2nd VIC - Bow: Brian J Vear, 2: Peter L Gillon, 3: Martin Tomanovits, 4: Ian R McCann, 5: John P Nettleton, 6: David B Ramage, 7: Paul M Guest, Str: Terrence R Davies, Cox: Tom C Daffy, Emergs: Mal D McKenzie & Ian F Bolt, Cch: Ian E Douglas, Selectors: Dr Lloyd S Williams, Ron J March & coach, Mgr: Noel F Wilkinson
3rd WA - Bow: Milton A Francis, 2: Edward N Maslen, 3: R Tim Luke, 4: Berry H Durston, 5: Chris L Fisher, 6: Jonathon A Wickham, 7: Ronald Hardy, Str: John K Negus, Cox: Terry Scook, Emergs: Dennis J Gillespie & Stan J Omodei, Cch: Ken D Grant
4th TAS - Bow: D Harper, 2: Roger Manton, 3: Stephen Hawkins, 4: Robert Gould, 5: D Rule, 6: D Holloway, 7: John Blake, Str: Reg Free, Cox: R Reid, Emerg: V Phillips, Cch: Ivan Moy
SA eliminated in repechage - Bow: Robert J Russell, 2: F P Nolan, 3: P A Gunson, 4: W R Hume, 5: R A McLeod, 6: P O Berman, 7: A T Ramsay, Str: William E Hay, Cox: R Lawson, Emerg: B P Southcott, Cch: Roger I Leach

E1: 1st NSW, 2nd WA, 3rd TAS
E2: 1st VIC, 2nd SA
R: 1st WA, 2nd TAS, 3rd SA
Final: 1st NSW, 2nd VIC, 3rd WA, 4th TAS

The final was close with only 0.4 seconds seperating first and second, with WA a further 5.6 seconds further behind. The Victorians led nearly all the way until a well planned move by NSW late in the race caught them.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Time: 9.05.7
Margins 3.8 and 22.3 secs

1st NSW - Gary Pearce
2nd TAS - J Moore
3rd VIC - Peter F Edwards
4th WA - John Yuille
5th QLD - John Pressler
SA eliminated in repechage - B M McKenzie

The Sculling progression was as follows:
E1: 1st NSW, 2nd WA, 3rd QLD
E2: 1st TAS, 2nd VIC, 3rd SA
R: 1st QLD, 2nd SA
Final: 1st NSW, 2nd TAS, 3rd VIC, 4th WA, 5th QLD.

Pearce led all the way but only won by 4 seconds.

Men's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Penrith Cup

Time: 7.34.1
Margin 4.9 & 10 seconds (1 1/2 lengths and 3 1/2 lengths)

1st NSW - Bow: Bruce Downie, 2: Colin Schofield, 3: Colin Bullard, Str: Phil Faddy, Cox: Alan Grover, Emerg: Denis Carmody, Cch: Kevyn Webb
2nd SA - Bow: G L Footer, 2: D E Brooke, 3: R A Cooper, Str: R E Bolt, Cox: P J Taylor, Emerg: Vaughan Bollen, Cch: Roger L Moore
3rd VIC - Bow: Peter J Downey, 2: George Xouris, 3: Peter A McC Doyle, Str: Geoff A Park, Cox: Chris J W Fordyce, Emerg: Robert W Stephenson, Cch: Keith Bilney, Selectors: Norman W Cairnes, William A Craven & coach.
4th WA - Bow: Colin P Veal, 2: David A Cannon, 3: Alan J Giorgi, Str: Harry T Robinson, Cox: Robert McLaren, Emerg: Robert W Lawson-Smith, Cch: William R Burbidge
5th TAS - Bow: Terry L Philpot, 2: W Walters, 3: Robert Dixon, Str: Noel Browning, Cox: Darrel Cashion, Emerg: G Nichols, Cch: G Brooks

The lightweight four championship was a first and final with a fine win to NSW after passing the early leaders SA.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1000m
Time: 3.26.0
Margin: 3 lengths

1st NSW - Bow: Dianne Lucas, 2: Wendy Spurling, 3: Connie Rietsma, Str: Helen Evans, Cox: Alf McLaren, Cch: Mervyn Perry
2nd VIC - Bow: Valmai Bertrand, 2: Patricia Meadth, 3: Norma Healey, Str: Alison Thorne, Cox: John Arifovic, Cch: Roy Scutcheon
3rd QLD - Bow: Denise Mallett, 2: Jeanette Cook, 3: Arley Emerick, Str: Betty Hughes, Cox Gail Smith
4th ACT
5th SA - Bow: Geraldine Brace, 2: Gina Baynes, 3: Joy Cooper, Str: Valarie Arnold, Cox: unknown

After a good start by the Victorians, the race was stopped after the Queensland crew broke a swivel. After a delay of about 30 minutes, NSW got the best of the re-start and went onto win their 11th successive win.

Women's Interstate Sculling Championship–The Nell Slatter Trophy

Time: 4.16

1st NSW - Margaret Hansen
2nd VIC - Joan Biretta

The Women's sculler from Victoria was one of the most promising young scullers to ever come from Geelong. She went missing in 1965 whilst training on the Barwon River. Her body was found a few days later. There was considerable mystery surrounding her tragic death and it received considerable newspaper coverage.


  • Regatta program
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual report
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management