Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1923 Interstate Championships

Women's: 5 May 1923, Swan River WA
Men's: 7 May 1923, Swan River WA

Photos 1923 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1923 programme

1923 Programme Cover

Regatta Officials

Starter: F Shaw
Umpire: R S Jeffreys
Judges: W White, C O'Donnell & F Hollis
L St John, Angus Thomson & P Ryan

42nd Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Distance: 3 miles
Time: 17.31
Margins: 1/2 length and 1 1/2 lengths.

1st SA - Bow: Harry E Graetz, 2: Edward D Thomas, 3: Wally E H Jarvis, 4: Arthur V Scott, 5: Alf C Taueber, 6: William M Sladden, 7: Frank M Cummings, Str: Wally H Pfeiffer, Cox: Robert A Cummings, Emerg: E Tucker, Cch: H E (Ted) Higgs, Mgr: C A M West
2nd WA -Bow: Arthur H Mettam, 2: George Orgill, 3: Perc Pfarrington, 4: James (Jim) G Gordon, 5: William (Bill) A Browne, 6: James Child, 7: George W Mettam, Str: George Rogers, Cox: William (Bill) White, Emergs: G A (Gra) Rosser & H L Marsh, Cch & Mgr: Carl During
3rd VIC - Bow: Ray W B Todd, 2: H C Hawkins, 3: G R B Patterson, 4: R Weir, 5: H Robert Rush, 6: Jack L Mounsey, 7: R (Bob) V Gregg, Str; Jim M Buchanan, Cox: Eric J Counihan, Emerg: E C James, Cch: Jim M Macfarlane, Manager Edward Kenny, Selectors: Alex B Sloan, Jim M Macfarlane & M F Shea.
4th NSW - Bow: R M Johnson, 2: John (Jack) J Lewis, 3: Ivan C Bucci, 4: Jack McMullen , 5: E M Hall, 6: Joe T Vindin, 7: John H Blakemore, Str: John (Jack) McQueen, Cox: W J Maling, Emerg: Horace Robert Hunt, Cch: Ernie E Keary, Mgr: F V Bullen
5th TAS - Bow: O Ingles. 2: A Brewer, 3: B Dawson, 4: P Willey, 5: D L Scott, 6: T Chaplin, 7: J Courtenay, Str: C Coogan, Cox: J H Doolan, Cch: James Coogan, Mgr: Percy C Weetman

finish of the King's Cup

1923 King's Cup Finish

The race was postponed from the previous Saturday as it was too rough to race. The Eights Championships started badly with the Tasmanians breaking and the starter refusing to call the crews back. After catching the Tasmanians, the Victorians and Western Australians took the lead. By the mile mark, Western Australia led a length from Victoria and South Australia. The South Australian then took after Western Australia and drew up level with them by the two mile mark. The South Australians then moved away to win by 1/2 length with Victoria 1 1/2 length behind the Western Australians.

The NSW crew lost W C H (Bill) Ridley through illness and was replaced not by the named emergency but a local WA rower ANAs Jack McMullen. McMullen had the unique experience of being a substitute in a visiting crew and racing against his mother state. 

In accordance with the rules of racing, Queensland was excused from attending the WA race.

SA crew

The SA Crew

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Time: 16.55.0
Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Margins: 2 & 3 lengths

1st NSW - Arthur G Bull
2nd TAS - M Bradley
3rd VIC - Stanley McGorm
4th WA - A L Sadler

The sculling race was a straight forward win by 2 lengths for Arthur Bull.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1/2 mile
No time taken
Margins: 4 & 10 lengths

1st SA - Bow: M E O'Donnell, 2: Adele Hill, 3: M Thomas, Str: J Thomas, Cox: Owen Carrick, Cch: J J Foody
2nd TAS - Bow: W Howe, 2: O R Kidd, 3: M Atkins, Str: Edna M Radford, Cox: J Ifould, Cch: Percy Weetman
3rd VIC - Bow: D Hood, 2: V Samson, 3: R O'Sullivan, Str: E Connor, Cox: T Buchanan, Emerg: E Murphy

At the 1922 women's conference it was permitted that both Queensland and New South Wales would be exempted from the trip to Perth. The racing was again conducted in racing clinkers.

South Australian women's four

1923 SA Women's Four


  • Current and subsequent regatta programs
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management