Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1899 Intercolonial Championships

18 Nov, Yarra River VIC

23rd Men's Intercolonial Eight-Oared Championship

Distance: 2 1/2 miles
Time: 14.52
Margin: 4 lengths and 2 lengths

1st VIC – Bow: A Watson, 2: A Dawson, 3: J L Nolan, 4: H J Hughes, 5: T Davies, 6: Charles Donald, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: James Donald, Cox: J H Counihan, Cch: J M MacFarlane
2nd NSW – Bow: Matthew C Brownhill, 2: Harold A Smith, 3: Michael G Cater, 4: Oscar H Baass, 5: Clarrie A Smith, 6: C Henry Degotardi, 7: Arthur J Fitzhardinge, Str: Edward A Pearson, Cox & Cch: C Lou Quist, Emerg: D G Bathgate
3rd SA - Bow: J Irvine, 2: W Plaisted, 3: K McKenzie, 4: W A Abernethy, 5: J H Walker, 6: W B Walker, 7: C Lawson, Str: Joseph H Clouston, Cox: W Sweeney, Cchs: Messrs Morrow and Barton, Trainer: M McArgill
4th QLD – Bow: W Mellish, 2: T Cusack, 3: J A O'Connor, 4: F Craig, 5: T J Lyons, 6: F B Whitman, 7: E Colclough, Str: Dan E Joyce, Cox: A Cadden, Cch: Stephen Fairbairn

The amateur question was finally resolved for this regatta and NSW rejoined the competition. The 1896 conference definition was agreed to but operative from 1st January 1897, effectively allowing the Victorians who had raced for cash prizes in other sports prior to that date to be eligible.

High definition copies of the images below can be found on the Australian Rowing Images website.

NSW crew

NSW Crew

certificate of participation

Charles Donald's Certificate of Participation - original held by Yarra Yarra Rowing Club

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship

Time: 18.41.5
Margin: 15 lengths

1st NSW – John J Daley
2nd QLD – Michael J Slack

The sculling championship was won easily by 15 lengths after Slack suffered steering problems.


  • The Victorian Oarsman by John Lang, published by Massina & Co 1919
  • Sydney Rows by Alan May published by Sydney Rowing Club 1970

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management