Scroll To Top
History of 1919 Peace Regatta

1960 Interstate Championships

Men's: 19 Mar 1960, Tamar River TAS
Women's: 23 Apr 1960, Town Reach Brisbane River QLD

Photos 1960 Interstate Championships Photo Gallery

1960 programme

1960 Programme Cover for the Men's Interstate Championships

These races were the first of the regular 2000 metre racing for the Interstate Championships. This distance had been used in 1956 but it was now the determined distance. The eights race was also the test race for the Rome Olympic

Organising Committee & Officials

Organising Committee: TRC

Starters: N F Fazackerley (KC), J C Meehan (Penrith Cup), R B Tynan (President's Cup)

Umpires: G F Sorell & J Thomson

Judges: A Cunningham, I Short, R R "Ray" Vincent & C B Needham

Timekeepers: A J Golding & P A Prith

Despatch Stewards: C T P Cooley, E S Elrick

Weights Steward: C J Burgess

72nd Men's Interstate Eight-Oared Championship–The King's Cup

Distance 2000m
Time: 5:45.2
Margins 3/4, 2, 1 1/4, 1 1/2 & 1 length

1st WA - Bow: Milton A Francis, 2: Geoff A Hale, 3: John R Ledder, 4: A Max Cunningham, 5: Max S Gamble, 6: Berry H Durston, 7: Roger A Ninham, Str: John G Rosser, Cox: Terrence J Scook, Cch: Ken D Grant, Emerg: Rory E S Argyle
2nd NSW - Bow: Ralfe Currall, 2: Kevin Evans, 3: Peter Waddington, 4: Victor Schweikert, 5: Kenneth Railton, 6: John Hudson, 7: Graeme Allan, Str: Bruce Evans, Cox: Peter Wade, Cch: Dr Eric Longley, Emergs: Edward Curtain & Max Annett
3rd VIC - Bow: Hubert R Frederico, 2: James G Howden, 3: Martin G Tomanovits, 4: Graeme A McCall, 5: William S Arnold, 6: W Neville Howell, 7: Paul Guest, Str: Geoff M Taylor, Cox: C J Newman, Coach: Robert R Aitken, Emerg: Peter Guest and Peter Gillon, Selectors: Dr Lloyd S Williams, Ron J March & coach, Manager R G Harding
4th QLD - Bow: John Drewe, 2: J Job, 3: Peter Jorss, 4: J Ireland, 5: I Mayes, 6: P Apel, 7: B Clarke, Str: L Andrews, Cox: B Egan, Cch: Eric P Evers, Emerg: R Philp, Manager: Cal C Malouf
5th TAS - Bow: T J Vimpany, 2: J S Harman, 3: R J Young, 4: A R Marshall, 5: A C Johnson, 6: P H Burgess, 7: J A Collins, Str: D W Hollaway, Cox: E Hollaway, Cch: J Grace, Emergs: G C Macdonald & D R Gregory
6th SA - Bow: Tom P McCormick, 2: G Clode, 3: Geoff D Burfield, 4: Lindsay Southcott, 5: Cliff Graetz, 6: Bruce Robertson, 7: R Cornelius, Str: Robert Russell, Cox: G Cuell, Cch: Jack Bollen, Emerg: B Cornelius

Western Australian crew

Western Australian crew

Bow: Milton A Francis, 2: Geoff A Hale, 3: John R Ledder, 4: A Max Cunningham, 5: Max S Gamble, 6: Berry H Durston, 7: Roger A Ninham, Str: John G Rosser, Cox: Terrence J Scook

The race was run in perfect condition at the turn of the tide and with slight following conditions. NSW and WA led from the start with Victoria close behind. Then Victoria took the lead after a few hundred metres and kept it until WA came through at a very high rating in the third five hundred metres. NSW gave a determined effort and overtook Victoria and then chased WA. WA went on to win by 3/4 length to NSW with Victoria one a and a half lengths further back.

Men's Interstate Sculling Championship–The President's Cup

Distance 2000m
Time: 6.54.0
Margins: 3, 1 1/4 & 5 lengths

1st NSW - Ian Tutty
2nd TAS - Graham Squires
3rd VIC - Peter Edwards
4th QLD - Russell H McLellan

Ian Tutty led the whole way in the sculling championship although he steered erratically. Squires challenged for the lead but Tutty was too strong winning easily by 3 lengths with Edwards a further 1 1/2 length further back.

Men's Interstate Lightweight Four Championship–The Penrith Cup

Distance 2000m
Time: 6.27.00
Margins: 1 1/2, 3, 4 & 1/2 length

1st WA - Bow: Richard (Dick) A Child, 2: Brian L Colbran, 3: Alan Martin, Str: Don O'Brien, Cox: Walter (Wally) V Bennett, Cch: W Jim Pannell, Emerg: Geoff L Storey
2nd NSW - Bow: Patrick Burke, 2: Kevin Boyle, 3: Colin Bullard, Str: Robert Ritchie, Cox: Alf McLaren, Cch: Bert Harding, Emerg: John Henderson
3rd VIC - Bow: Jeff J Wylie, 2: Ken Hume, 3: Anthony M Walker, Str: Paul Harding, Cox: David Palfreyman, Cch: William Wallace, Emerg: Lance Gallagher
4th SA - Bow: A Doyle, 2: D Cathcart, 3: A G Coldwell, Str: W Fields, Cox: R Turley, Cch: B Watson, Emerg: A Frame
5th TAS - Bow: J S Targett, 2: David W Poulson, 3: R J Gibson, Str: R A Richardson, Cox/Cch: Tommy A Darcey, Emergs: Kerry L Howlett & G T Reeves

The lightweight fours race also provided wins for WA with a superbly timed lightweight crew. Victoria led early but it did not take long for WA to take the lead and never look back. They were challenged by NSW but went on to win by 1 1/2 length to NSW and a further 3 lengths back to Victoria.

Women's Interstate Four-Oared Championship–The ULVA Trophy

Distance: 1000m
Time: 4.31.0
Margins: 3/4 & 3/4 length

1st NSW - Bow: Fay Whelan, 2: Margaret Agnew, 3: Phyliss Hansen, Str: Susan Evans, Cox: Peter Wade, Cch: Frank Nicholls
2nd QLD - Bow: H Wenk, 2: V Haapakoski, 3: B Window, Str: N Watson, Cox: Mr K Cordie, Cch: Mr J Mansfield
3rd VIC - Bow: Gwen Malady, 2: Margaret Graham, 3: Judy Gallagher, Str: Gail Charles, Cox: Greg Glassford

NSW was able to hold off a fast finishing Queensland to take the title yet again. The margins were 3/4 length and 3/4 length and so one of the closer races of recent times.


  • Regatta program
  • Victorian Rowing Association annual report
  • Author's records

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management