Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1936 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

St. Joseph’s College Wins G.P.S. Championship Eights. Titanic Struggle on Nepean. The Greatest School Race Rowed in N.S.W. (Sydney Morning Herald, 20 Apr 1936)

St. Joseph’s College won the Great Public Schools’ championship eight on the Nepean River on Saturday, in the greatest school race rowed in New South Wales, and probably the most keenly contested eight-oar event witnessed by the present generation of rowing followers.

St. Joseph’s won by a quarter of a length from Sydney Grammar School with the Sydney Church of England Grammar School (last year’s winners) half a length further away. Then followed Scots College, St. Ignatius’ College, Sydney High Scholl, Newington College, and The King’s School in the order.

St. Joseph’s College won the first fours narrowly from Sydney Church of England Grammar School, whose second four was successful in its event, winning by half a length from Sydney High School.

The Consensus of opinion among spectators was that, with eight crews competing in each event, as a results of the elimination of heats, the racing afforded a far finer spectacle than that on the Parramatta. 


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy


¼ length

½ length


1st St. Joseph’s College – Bow: B. Marien, 2: L. Reynolds, 3: V. Mahboub, 4: J. Impey, 5: C. Ewing, 6: T. Byrne, 7: C. Rowe, Str: V. Butler, Cox: R. Crane, Cch: B.S. Williams

2nd Sydney Grammar School – Bow: W. Sherringham, 2: P.A. Deck, 3: J.L. Taylor, 4: A.B.M. Evans, 5: J.R.M. Henderson, 6: B.T.A. Arnold, 7: C.R.V. Prentice, Str: E.H.R. Deck, Cox: J.B. Winning, Cch: A.N. Finaly

3rd Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: J.B. St. Vincent Welch, 2: E.B.J. Smtih, 3: T.W. Wise, 4: J. Barnes, 5: H.G. Wise, 6: L.W. Middleton, 7: H.C. Bradhurst, Str: R.K. Pedlingam, Cox: C.S. Spain, Cch: L.C. Robson

4th The Scots College – Bow: C.J. Ross, 2: F.J. Horsfield, 3: J.W. Murray, 4: R.S. Littlejohn, 5: J.W. Crane, 6: F.A. Paul, 7: G.C. Nott, Str: H.M. Samins, Cox: H.F. Kerr, Cch: N. Pottie

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup



1 length

1st St. Joseph’s College – Bow: K. Sweeney, 2: F. Moss, 3: H. Denning, Str: V. Love, Cox: K. Edwards, Cch: F.M. Cronin

2nd Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: B.E. Swire, 2: R.D. Bedford, 3: E.P. Trebeck, Str: M.E. Wood, Cox: R.G. Wotton, Cch: J.B. Burrell

3rd Sydney Grammar School – Bow: W.M. Dill Macky, 2: R.W. Stanistreet, 3: R.S. Edwards, Str: L.T. Milgate, Cox: J.L. Bettson, Cch: A.T. Stewart

Senior 2nd Four


½ length

1 ¼ lengths

1st Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: B.L. Geddes, 2: H.P. Mayne, 3: J.A. Cormack, Str: A.D. Ferguson, Cox: W.A. Jackson, Cch: J.B. Burrell

2nd Sydney High School – Bow: R. Henderson, 2: J. Bush, 3: E. Young, Str: K. Watts, Cox: P. Newman, Cch: D.J. Duffy

3rd St. Joseph’s College – Bow: J. Cracknell, 2: J. Konerger, 3: F. Potter, Str: J. Whitehurst, Cox: S. Dalton, Cch: F.M. Cronin

< previous 1935

> next 1937

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management