Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1963 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Head of the River Title As Parting Present (Terry Smith, Sydney Morning Herald, 20 Apr 1963)

“A Vigorous and experience Newington crew today are likely to provide a fitting farewell to their coach Tom Chessell by winning the G.P.S. Head of the River.

The race, on the Nepean, is due to start at 3:50pm. Chessell revealed yesterday that he cannot afford the time to continue as coach of the crew. He has done a wonderful job developing Newington and keeping them at their top for the big day. Chessell is one of four coaches who intend to retire after today’s race. 

The others are Col Davies (Shore), John Grice (The King’s School) and Graham Pilger (Sydney High). The eight crews will have a gruelling row over the straight mile and a half course.”


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy


1 ½ m

1st Newington – Bow: M.D. Morgan, 2: C.S. Hawthorne, 3: C.C. Gough, 4: J.M. Turnbull, 5: P.R. Ritcher, 6: P.W.A. Purcell, 7: P. Meier, Str: M.B. Goldsmith, Cox: I.T. Chessell

2nd St Joseph’s

3rd The King’s School

4th Shore

5th Scots

6th Riverview

7th Grammar

8th Sydney High

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup


2 lengths

½ length

1st Grammar – Bow: S.H.O. Smith, 2: D.R. Prichett, 3: P.R. Holmes, Str: P.A. Tanner, Cox: R.L. Bruce

2nd The King’s School

3rd Newington

4th St. Joseph’s

5th Shore

6th Sydney High

7th Scots

8th Riverview

Senior 2nd Four


¼ length

¼ length

1st Sydney High – Bow: J.E. Curran, 2: T.F. Sanford, 3: C.N. Lyon, Str: C.J. Faulks, Cox: M.R. Wheatley

2nd Riverview

3rd Shore

4th Scots

5th The King’s School

6th Newington

7th St. Joseph’s

8th Grammar

Senior 3rd Four


½ length

1 length

1st           Shore – Bow: R.E. McGlynn, 2: B.G. Moore, 3: A.R. Kennedy, Str: K.A. Wharton, Cox: G.R.G. Hawkins

2nd          Newington

3rd          Riverview

4th          The King’s School

5th          St. Joseph’s

6th          Sydney High

7th          Scots

8th          Grammar

Senior 4th Four


¼ length

¼ length

1st           St. Joseph’s – Bow: G.L. Hannaford, 2: J.B. Fay, 3: G.V. O’Gorman, Str: D.J. Marr, Cox: R.J. Beacroft

2nd          Shore

3rd          The King’s School

3rd          Riverview

5th          Sydney High

6th          Scots

7th          Newington

8th          Grammar


< previous 1962

> next 1964

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management