Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1927 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

There are no other schools who take a hat trick in their first three years of joining the competition. Sydney High School did this under George Hancock and in 1927, Charles Smith.

Hancock joined Allan Ramsay of Shore and W H Savigny of Grammar in coaching the hat trick.

The race was very interesting as High was last until Breakfast Point but went onto win by 3/4 length in an irresistible finish.


Organising Committee and Officials

Organising Committee: AAGPS


Head of the River

Time: 8 mins 22.4 secs
 Margins: 3/4 length and one canvas 

1st Sydney High School - Bow: Ron M Cook, 2: E P Fielder, 3: C E H Rubie, 4: Danial A Robinson, 5: D J Duffy, 6: L W Hepper, 7: R Gordon Walker, Str: Archibald W J Watts, Cox: A W McKibbin, Cch: Charles Smith
2nd Sydney Grammar School
3rd The King's School

4th Sydney Church of England Grammar School

Other crews
St Josephs College

E1: 1st SHS, 2nd SCEGS, 3rd SC, 4th SJC, Time: 8 mins, 4.5 secs
E2: 1st SGS, 2nd TKS, 3rd NC

Sydney High School crew

First Four 

Time: Not known

1st Newington College
2nd St Joseph's College
3rd The King's School
4th Sydney Grammar School

E1: 1st SJC, 2nd TKS, 3rd SIC, 4th SHS
E2: 1st NC, 2nd SGS, 3rd SC, 4th SCEGS

Second Four

Time: Not known

1st Sydney Church of England Grammar School 
2nd St Joseph's College
3rd Sydney Grammar School
4th The King's School

E1: 1st SCEGS, 2nd SJC, 3rd NC, 4th SC
E2: 1st TKS, 2nd SGS, 3rd SIC, 4th SHS


  • Sydney High School centenary history published in 1988
  • The Record, Sydney High School, Vol XIX No 1 June 1927

< previous 1926

> next 1928

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management