Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1995 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Shore fights for Victory (Andrea Jones, Sydney Morning Herald, 02 Apr 1995)

Sydney’s most prestigious rowing event, The Head of the River, was won by Shore yesterday in a close race.

Although they were the popular favourites, the plucky Shore crew were forced to fight all the way, finishing a length ahead of Newington, followed by King’s and Sydney Grammar.

An estimated 20,000 people lined the shores of the Nepean River to watch the 103-year-old race over 2,400m for Sydney’s Great Public Schools. While parents in straw hats and polo shirts sipped champagne and nibbled from picnic hampers, exuberant students flocked the banks chanting and screaming. One overexcited Sydney High student, his face painted in loyalist brown and blue, even found his way into the drink.

Amid the post-race cheering, race convenor Greg Moore said: “The favourite was always Shore though we all though the three others would push them to a very fast time.

“Even so, Shore’s time of 7 min 23.5s was a very fast time against a head wind. It was really unbelievable.”

For Shore it marked their 29th win of the contest and their first victory since 1988.


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy




1st Shore – Bow: John Boag, 2: Joel Cape, 3: Derek Burrows, 4: Alex Koch, 5: Andrew Waite, 6: Sam Wallrock, 7: James Armati, Str: Michael Wiseman, Cox: Carter Mullins

2nd Newington – Bow: Stephen Humphrey, 2: Grant Precian, 3: Paul Carageorge, 4: Tim Morgan, 5: Joel Hardy, 6: Anthony Frith, 7: Steven Stewart, Str: Adam Woodward, Cox: Steven Perry

3rd The King’s School – Bow: Aaron Marshall-McCormack, 2: Wes Rogers, 3: John Webster, 4: Wilf Armstrong, 5: Ralph Williams, 6: Angus Scott, 7: Jon Gilmore, Str: Geoff Mutton, Cox: Julian Huxley

4th Sydney Grammar – Bow: Mark Tattersall, 2: Nick Sproats, 3: Doug Gates, 4: Sam Mower, 5: Nick Souter, 6: Stuart Walch, 7: Julian Frecklington, Str: Mike Parkes, Cox: Oliver Pennington

5th High

6th St. Joseph’s College

7th St. Ignatius’ College

Senior 2nd Eight




1st Shore

2nd The King’s School

3rd St. Ignatius’ College

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup




1st Shore – Bow: Rowan Cook, 2: Chris Northam, 3: Ben McMasters, Str: Michael Considine, Cox: Padr Harvey

2nd Sydney Boys High – Bow: Alister Hosking, 2: Cameron McKnight, 3: Martin Philipp, Str: Tom Bellinger, Cox: Peter Micholas

3rd St Joseph’s College – Bow: Ben Hegarty, 2: Greg Parker, 3: Luke Istomin, Str: Scott Bailey, Cox: Matt Cant

4th Riverview – Bow: Christian Powell, 2: Andrew Riordan, 3: Pau Roche, Str: Charles Roche, Cox: Simon Rae

Senior 2nd Four




1st The King’s School

2nd Shore

3rd St. Joseph’s College

Senior 3rd Four




1st           Shore

2nd          The King’s School

3rd          St. Joseph’s College

Senior 4th Four




1st           Shore

2nd          The King’s School

3rd          St. Joseph’s College

< previous 1994

> next 1996

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management