Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1991 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

The rowing goes on, without the rolling. (Susan Owens, Sydney Morning Herald, 25 Mar 1991)

Dr Maurice Renshaw’s Penrith house nestles on the banks of the Nepean River, opposite the finishing line for the annual GPS Regatta, which Newington College won for the third year in succession on Saturday. For more than 20 years, as many as 300 friends wandered through the Renshaw’s house on regatta day and a sort of GPS party would go into full swing for friends of their five sons, who went to St. Joseph’s.

But St. Joseph’s hasn’t won the Head of the River since 1973 and these days this, and all other rituals, have subsided. When some years ago the head-masters got together to end the drunken aftermath on the banks opposite Dr Renshaw’s house, they succeeded with the effectiveness of General Schwarzkopf.

“They actively discouraged publicity so the race is no longer televised,” Dr Renshaw said. “And they brought forward the race time, so that it is now all over at 1.45 when once it was just beginning.”

“It was a gunfight,” he said, and dusted down his 1938 St. Joseph’s honour cap with the gold tassel and the word “Champions” on the brim.

His old school showed early form and won the first two races. “We’ve got Cardinal Freeman up there helping the Catholics.” He said.

“Of course, these days old boys don’t get up early and come to watch, and people have diverse interests,” he added.


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy




1st Newington – Bow: M. Conney, 2: B. Nelson, 3: A. White, 4: N. Wainman, 5: D. Donneley, 6: M. Long, 7: G. Stewart, Str: J Stewart, Cox: P. Moses, Cch: Michael D Morgan

2nd Scots College

3rd The King’s School

4th Shore

5th St. Joseph’s College

6th Grammar

7th St. Ignatius’ College

8th High

Senior 2nd Eight




1st St. Joseph’s College – Bow: L. Green, 2: F. Bryan, 3: J. Velluti, 4: A. Nann, 5: J. Costello, 6: D. Hourigan, 7: B. Mannix, Str: M. Truscott, Cox: P. Yates

2nd The King’s School

3rd Newington

4th Scots College

5th Shore

6th St. Ignatius’ College

7th Grammar

8th High

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup




1st Shore – Bow: D. Macready, 2: T. King, 3: M. Salvage, Str: D. Scammell, Cox: D. Patterson

2nd St. Joseph’s College

3rd Newington

4th St. Ignatius’ College

5th The King’s School

6th Scots College

7th High

8th Grammar

Senior 2nd Four

1st Shore – Bow: A. Partridge, 2: M. Burrell, 3: I. Randall, Str: A. Rowlay, Cox: M. Little

2nd St. Joseph’s College

3rd The King’s School

4th St. Ignatius’ College

5th Newington

6th Scots College

7th High

8th Grammar

Senior 3rd Four




1st           St. Joseph’s College – Bow: B. Muirhead, 2: L. Saunders, 3: M. Crick, Str: D. Brennan, Cox: C.   Colquhoun

2nd          Shore

3rd          The King’s School

4th          St. Ignatius’ College

5th          Newington

6th          High

7th          Scots College

8th          Grammar

Senior 4th Four




1st           St. Joseph’s College – Bow: J, Daly, 2: S. Pass, 3: G. Prennan, Str: P. Francis, Cox: B. Kochanski

2nd          Newington

3rd          The King’s School

4th          Shore

5th          Grammar

6th          High

7th          Scots College

8th          St. Ignatius’ College

< previous 1990

> next 1992

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management