Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1930 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Great controversy surrounded this race. High deadheated with Shore in the heat, the first time this had occurred. There was nearly a deadheat in the other heat with the judges just able to seperate St Josephs and Newington with St Josephs getting through.

High triumphed in the final in very rough conditions. In a sensational decision, both High and Grammar werer disqualified. However some months later, the AAGPS declared the event a no race and the title lapsed for the year. However as High was the current winners from 1929, the Major Rennie trophy remained in their possession. The justification for the decision remains obscure.

However there were comments that crews were spending too much time on rowing and insufficient time on studies. The headmasters were not pleased.


Organising Committee and Officials

Organising Committee: AAGPS


Head of the River

Time: Not known

Declared a no race. However the race results were:
1st Sydney High School

Other finalists included St Josephs College

Known heats results:
E1: Equal 1st: High and Shore
E2: 1st St Josephs College, 2nd Newington College, 3rd St Ignatius College


First Four

Time: Not known

1st St Josephs College

E1: 1st Scots College, 2nd Sydney High School, 3rd St Ignatius College


Second Four

Time: Not known

Results not known

1st St Josephs College, 2nd Sydney High School, 3rd St Ignatius College


< previous 1929

> next 1931

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management