Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1998 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Sizing them up for Head of the River (Jennie Curtin, Sydney Morning Herald, 04 Apr 1998)

“It’s not just another race this afternoon. It’s not just another regatta with a winner’s ribbon dangling as an inducement at the end of 2,000m of hard slog.

Nope, none of that. This is the Head of the River and, for the crews from eight of Sydney’s elite private boys’ schools, it’s the 101st annual instalment of one of their oldest traditions.

Predictably, anyone with even a remote old-tie connection won’t, or can’t give an unbiased assessment of who may win.

So the Herald turned to an independent expert to give his candid opinion on the likely outcome of the 1998 race.

Sam Carroll, one of Sydney’s leading club coaches, coached the Sydney Rowing Club crew to victory in last month’s Riverview Gold Cup race. He is plumping for Newington to retain the title it won last year.

“The most likely winner will be either Shore or Newington, with the latter having edge,” he said. “Only three schools have won the race in the last 12 years – Newington seven times, Shore four and King’s just once.

“With Shore’s Gary Uebergang and Newington’s Michael Morgan the only coaches with previous winning experience, it would appear unlikely that there will be an upset.” 


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy




1st Newington

2nd Shore

3rd St. Joseph’s College

Senior 2nd Eight




1st Shore

2nd Newington

3rd The King’s School

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup




1st Shore

2nd St. Joseph’s College

3rd Newington

Senior 2nd Four




1st Shore

2nd The King’s School

3rd Newington

< previous 1997

> next 1999

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management