Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1919 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Sydney Grammar made their hat trick of wins in the Head of the River in this year with a crew stroked bt "Johnny" Wallace, but only just. This was to be one of the closest races ever at these championships with Grammar sneaking home by a mere 2 feet from Riverview.

Sadly two members of the winning crew later died in seperate aviation accidents.


Organising Committee

Organising Committee: AAGPS


Head of the River

Time: Not known
Margin: 2 feet

1st Sydney Grammar School - Bow: J M Russell, 2: I D Stewart, 3: R E Luowici, 4: G E Moss, 5: W F Stewart, 6: F H Ludowici, 7: F H Moore, Str: A C (Johnny) Wallace, Cox: W E Mason, Cch: W H (Sav) Savigny
2nd St Ignatius College


First Four

Time: Not known

1st St Ignatius College - Bow: S Best, 2: G Blackall, 3: D Strelitz, Str: W B Williamson, Cox: H Duff, Cch: Rev L Loughnan


Second Four

Time: Not known

1st Sydney Grammar School - 3: L A Palmer
2nd Sydney Church of England Grammar School
3rd St Ignatius College


< previous 1918

> next 1920

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management