Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1918 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Sydney Grammar made this year the two of their hat trick of wins in the first eights. They used a very similar crew to 1917 with the same stroke, cox, coach and 3 others.

The race was a grim contest with four of the five crews almost level with only a short distance to the finish line.

The Scots College boated a crew for the first time in 1918 with a crew stroked by W R McFadyen.


Organising Committee and Officials

Organising Committee: AAGPS


Head of the River

Time: Not known

1st Sydney Grammar School - Bow: A C (Johnny) Wallace, 2: F H Ludowici, 3: L H Moore, 4: M N Sexton, 5: N F Stewart, 6: J D Fraser, 7: J H Blakemore, Str: T M Barnet, Cox: J S Laidley, Cch: W H (Sav) Savigny
4th St Ignatius College - Cch: W Furlong
Scots College
- Str: W R McFadyen 


First Four

Time: Not known

1st St Joseph's College
4th St Ignatius College


Second Four

Time: Not known

1st unknown
2nd St Ignatius College


< previous 1917

> next 1919

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management