Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1959 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

High Eight Takes Head of River (Alan Clarkson, Sydney Morning Herald, 19 Apr 1959)

High yesterday established itself as one of the best ever G.P.S. crews when it convincingly won the Head of the River on the Nepean.

Taking the lead from halfway, the smoothly stroking, powerful High crew cleared away to win by two lengths. High beat the improved St. Joseph’s crew, with Shore a foot away third. The win undoubtably establishes High as the top G.P.S. rowing crew in recent years. The School has the impressive record of winning the event in 1957 and again yesterday and being third last year.

The winning margin of two lengths was the greatest for seven years and gave a clear indication of the crew’s superiority over the other schools. Former Olympic sculling champion Merv Wood said that the High eight must be one of the best G.P.S. crews ever.

“It is a crew you get at a school once in a decade,” Wood said. “High might wait another 20 or 25 years before it will get another crew near this year’s standard. “It is not often you will get a big school crew that is able to use its weight and power to full advantage.

A PDF copy of the 1959 regatta program can be found through this link.


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy

2 lengths


1st High - Bow: Peter Shenstone, 2: Ian Stewart, 3:Ian Toll, 4: Alan Skinner, 5: John Campbell, 6: Geoff Cohen, 7: Stuart McGill, Str: Wayne Young, Cox: Ron Caddy, Cch: Alan Callaway

2nd St. Joseph’s College - Bow: B R Condon, 2: D W McNamara, 3: T C O'Neill, 4: C J Glynn, 5: J T McIntosh, 6: A H Dixon, 7: J A Daly, Str: D P Lynch, Cox: P E Goldman, Cch: Bro. John Baptist

3rd Shore - Bow: C J E Jarvis, 2: J W Stewart, 3: D L Cay, 4: C M Todd, 5: T H Jamison, 6: N B Docker, 7: B I Dickson, Str: D M Waddington, Cox: P B Wade, Cch: C C Davies

4th Newington - Bow W J Watson, 2: L C Wall, 3: R B Prosser, 4: D C Latter, 5: B A Napthali, 6: G G Stephens, 7: D W Walcot, Str: C F Franklin, Cox: J R Sweetnam, Cch: I S Parkin

5th Grammar - Bow: R B Noble, 2: A R Walker, 3: K J Bos, 4: R M Hearn, 5: D J Doust, 6: R F Bruwel, 7: M D Gourlay, Str: R H Killen, Cox: R H Hartman, Coaches: A B Gould and J G Goulay

6th The King’s School - Bow: R H Corbould, 2: D A Nelson, 3: R J Rawling, 4: J Cade, 5: A A McWilliam, 6: D J S Lister, 7: K C Unsted, Str: G W Mack, Cox: A R G Gow-Gates, Cch: W J W Grice

7th Riverview - Bow: M T Raper, 2: M B Dureau, 3: D C Pearson, 4: R J Rowe, 5: P L Kirby, 6: R A Curtin, 7: M W Lowrey, Str: W D Baggett, Cox: W M Hedger, Cch: D I Baggett

8th Scots - Bow: D Faywell, 2: D Johnson, 3: D Lieberman, 4: J Caldwell, 5: R Bowman, 6: B Edwards, 7: A Morris, Str: P Roper, Cox: M McWilliam, Cch: A Brown

The victorious High eight

Aerial image of race - 1/2 mile to go with High leading in lane 6 followed by Shore in lane 2

Triumphant return to boatshed

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup


1 length

1st Shore - Bow: J P Wade, 2: M P Wunderlich, 3: M A Charlton, Str: R M Northam, Cox: J R Dunstan, Cch: A J Moyes

2nd Newington - Bow: P W Bennett, 2: A E Gough, 3: M S Griffith, Str: T J Earl, Cox: M B Goldsmith, Cch: E J Morgan

3rd St. Joseph’s College - Bow: R E Tarlinton, 2: R K Jenkins, 3: K G Tragauer, Str: Joseph R Fazio, Cox: M A Mather, Cch: Rev Bro Marcus

4th Riverview - Bow: E A Murphy, 2: P Bookalil, 3: J D Hall, Str: J E Butcher, Cox: R F Raper, Cch: N H Hammond

5th The King’s School - Bow: D R Rogers, 2: J R Vickery, 3: M J K Abbott, Str: R D Francis, Cox: J A T Douglas, Cch: A M D McConnel

6th High - Bow: C G Maloney, 2: G P Jack, 3: P D Wagner, Str: D Moran, Cox: K K Lloyd, Cch: G C Pilger

7th Scots - Bow: P Robson, 2: R Crichton, 3: K Kay, Str: B Finlayson, Cox: R Deacon, Cch: B Hodgson

8th Grammar - Bow: I E Hottes, 2: D H Cohen, 3: I G Brakell, Str: D H Fussell, Cox: I D Terrey, Cchs: J A Goulding and P K Rudder

Senior 2nd Four

1 length

1 ½ lengths

1st Grammar - Bow: D G Stedman, 2: J J Killen, 3: P J Barcham, Str: R C Bath, Cox: D A Knapton, Cchs: J A Goulding and P K Rudder

2nd High - Bow: G J Buggie, 2: M J Bray, 3: R B Montgomery, Str: I A Scott, Cox: C W Love, Cch: J D Donoghue

3rd Scots - Bow: N Bennetts, 2: R Tomlinson, 3: T Lamble, Str: J Moore, Cox: J McLaren, Cch: B Hodgson

4th Shore - Bow: M G B Barnier, 2: W E B Webb, 3: M E Smith, Str: S G Litchfield, Cox: C W C Marr, Cch: R A Gilfillan

5th Riverview - Bow: C J Rickard, 2: J C Maher, 3: J R Plummer, Str: M F Williams, Cox: E Corcoran, Cch: N H Hammond

6th The King’s School - Bow: W I Frith, 2: D J Slapp, 3: S K Vidler, Str: H A Dalziell, Cox: R S Hemphill, Cch: L MacPherson

7th St. Joseph’s College - Bow: M J Barrett, 2: G R Hanks, 3: J M Lyons, Str: G T Peachey, Cox: G M Johnson, Cch: Rev Bro Marcus

8th Newington - Bow: A K Mathers, 2: W M Kaihau, 3 A K Dickinson, Str: G R Erwin, Cox: R L Denner, Cch: E J Morgan

Senior 3rd Four

¾ length


1stRiverview - Bow: A F French, A T Herbert, 3: J D Kirby, Str: C E Hayes, Cox: W Moulder, Cch: P Ramsay

2nd St. Joseph’s - Bow: P C Sorenson, 2: T M Timmins, 3: M T Ryan, Str: P J Hogan, Cox: D J McPhillips, Cch: Rev Bro Alman

3rd The King’s School - Bow: J M Janecek, 2: B L Walker, 3: N J Nolan, Str: G H Mitchell, Cox: J B H Gerber, Cch: W R Milne

4th High - Bow: J T Northern, 2: L P Hgan, 3: F J Brown, Str: W F McLaren, Cox: J R Gallagher, Cch: M T Wood

5th Newington - Bow: M N Davies, 2: J Marr, 3: R G Heape, Str: R J Thomas, Cox: D McDonald, Cch: H P Goldsmith

6th Shore - Bow: J B Burgmann, 2: B R Tonkin, 3: R F Dowe, Str: J D Warner, Cox: P C Capp, Cch: J L A Mitchell

7th Scots - Bow: R Murray, 2: K Cooper, 3 S Wallace, Str: H McLelland, Cox: S Stuart, Cch: K Cameron

8th Grammar - Bow: H G Williams, 2: D F Horovitz, 3: J W Gill, Str: J G Sample, Cox: R Beeman, Cch: O J Peters

Senior 4th Four

1 ¼ lengths


1st           High

2nd          The King’s School

3rd          Riverview

4th          Scots

5th          St. Joseph’s College

6th          Grammar

7th          Newington

8th          Shore

< previous 1958

> next 1960

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management