Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

Note: This is an excerpt from another page on this website.
For a more complete history, see the 1953 NSW AAGPS Head of the River.


1953 AAGPS Head of the River–
Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy


¾ length

1 length

1st High  – Bow: D.J. Denny, 2: G.G. Corry, 3: E.R. Coleman, 4: R.T. Clark, 5: J.B. Caddy, 6: A.B. Salt, 7: W.J. Leroy, Str: J.S. Woodcock, Cox: R.R. Donaldson, Cch: F.M. Nichols

2nd Shore  – Bow: G.R. Solomon, 2: R.P. Waddington, 3: Peter Gordon Ellison, 4: C.B. Gordon, 5: B.C.E. Jackson, 6: E. Sunstrup, 7: B.J. Clayton, Str: J.D. Wilson, Cox: J.G. Henningham, Cch: W.G. Thomas

3rd St. Joseph’s College  – Bow: J.B. Hickey, 2: J.V. Phillips, 3: J.M. Taylor, 4: J.B. Jarasius, 5: I.A. Ormsby, 6: W.R. Northcott, 7: J.L. Burton, Str: S.J. Hunt, Cox: R.H. Haggerty, Cch: Rev Brother Leonard, R.N. Tinning

Second placed Shore crew

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management