Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

Note: This is an excerpt from another page on this website.
For a more complete history, see the 1938 NSW AAGPS Head of the River.


1938 AAGPS Head of the River–
Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy



2 lengths

½ length

1st Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: W.J. Starkey, 2: K.J. Cameron, 3: J.H. Marshall, 4: W.G. Barnes, 5: I.A. Geddes, 6: W.W. Woodward, 7: B.P. Jay, Str: J.R. Banyard, Cox: R.J.G. Wooton, Cch: L.C. Robson

2nd Sydney High School – Bow: T. Gilderthorp, 2: H. Puusepp, 3: L. Foley, 4: Z. Freeman, 5: K. Baret, 6: E. Longley, 7: K. Coleman, Str: R. Higham, Cox: B. McFee, Cch: F.M. Nichols

3rd Newington College – Bow: M.A. Kolynack, 2: G.R. Howe, 3: M.R. Stanley, 4: W.A. McIntyre, 5: C.A. Fay, 6: M.W. Miles, 7: I.F. Potts, Str: W.J. Greig, Cox: C.E. Miller, Cch: N.S. Ladkin

4th St. Ignatius’ College – Bow: P. Stevens, 2: R. Loneragan, 3: C. Leahy, 4: K. Wawn, 5: J. Payten, 6: R. Barry, 7: G. O’Shaughnessy, Str: K. Morgan, Cox: D. Foy, Cch: L.P. Raper

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management