Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

Note: This is an excerpt from another page on this website.
For a more complete history, see the 1932 NSW AAGPS Head of the River.


1932 AAGPS Head of the River–
Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy


¾ length

8 lengths

2 lengths

1st St. Joseph’s College – Bow: J. Harley, 2: L. Hopkins, 3: W. Monti, 4: A. Copper, 5: W. Kelly, 6: J. Dickle, 7: J. Glynn, Str: G. Elias, Cox: J. McHugh, Cch: B. Williams

2nd Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: J.R. Burrell, 2: R.R. Hannah, 3: W.L. Buckham, 4: B.T. Coulson, 5: C.R. Sinclair, 6: F.A. Page, 7: D.M. Cowlishaw, Str: I.G. Kaplin, Cox: J.H. Cooper, Cch: L.C. Robson

3rd Sydney Grammar School – Bow: N.J. Blue, 2: J.J. Barcham, 3: A.L. Gay, 4: C.R. Warne, 5: L.A. Moxham, 6: R.G.O. Burrows, 7: T.N. Peters, Str: R.R. Thomson, Cox: S.F. Ashburner, Cch: A.N. Finlay

4th The King’s School – Bow: S. Murray-Prior, 2: J.S. Lewis, 3: G.S. Everingham, 4: C.G. McDonald, 5: R. Hambridge, 6: H. Brown-Craig, 7: C.M. Hall, Str: L.S. Dalrymple, Cch: D.S. Bligh

Second Heat: 1st SCEGS, 2nd SGS, 3rd SHS, 4th SIC, Time: 9 mins 20 secs

Other crews included:

St Ignatius College
Newington College
Sydney High School - Bow: M D Watson, 2: C K Paton, 3: C B Ebsworth, 4: H V D Baret, 5: H N Clay, 6: G Pauling, 7: R V Clark, Str: J Hanney, Cox: J S Hill

Sydney High School Crew

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management