Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1891 Rowing Victoria State Championships

Edward Ainley nearly won all three Championships, finishing second in the scull to a non-Victorian and winning the other races.

1891 was one of the great flood years of Melbourne. Some images of the impacts are below.

Prince's Bridge faces the torrent

The boatsheds - taken from the north bank

The rear of the boatsheds


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 20:58

1st W J Bridson, Wellington (NZL)

2nd Edward R Ainley, Yarra Yarra

3rd K Ritchie, Tamar (TAS)

4th R Gow, Tamar (TAS)

5th J McRae, Mercantile (NSW)

6th J B Sneider, Yarra Yarra

7th J B Walters, Yarra Yarra

Champion Men's Four

(3 ¼ miles)

Time: 20:40

1st Yarra Yarra – Bow: Charles W Horsburgh, 2: J Yeomans, 3: Alex Chamley, Str: Edward R Ainley, Cox: V G Petherick

2nd Albert Park

3rd Footscray

4th Civil Service

Champion Men's Eight 

(3 miles 300 yds. - Armfield Challenge Cup)

Time: 18:00

1st Yarra Yarra – Bow: James McDonald, 2: F Galvin, 3: Charles W Horsburgh, 4: Edward Horsburgh, 5: Arthur H Enticott, 6: James Yeomans, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: Edward R Ainley, Cox: V Petherick

2nd Banks

3rd Corio Bay

18th April, 1891. This Yarra Yarra crew received the Armfield Challenge Cup and the first Premiership Pennant, the gift of Mr. George E. Upward. The same crew won the Lorne Whiskey Trophy on 14th March, 1891, afterwards called the Claymore Trophy; Wendouree 2nd; Civil Service 3rd. The Yarra Yarra Rowing Club won this Championship two further times in a row.

Champion Eight of Victoria from Yarra Yarra Rowing Club

Back row: F Galvin, Arthur Enticott, Edward 'Teddy' Horsburgh. Front row: James Yeoman, James McDonald, Edward Ainley, Charles Horsburgh, Alex Chamley
In front: G Horsburgh (who did not cox the 1891 crew)


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Champion eight photograph from Yarra Yarra Rowing Club.

The flood photos from the Lindblade Collection, Mercantile Rowing Club

< previous 1890

> next 1892

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management