Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1889 Rowing Victoria State Championships

Following the introduction of the Champion Scull and Four in 1888, Eight Oared Championships were introduced in 1889.

Mid 1880s view of the city and back of boat sheds


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 22:05

1st J H Kerr, Yarra Yarra

2nd P Bradley, Melbourne City

3rd Edward R Ainley, Yarra Yarra

4th F Foster, Union (NZL)

5th Stephen Fairbairn, Melbourne

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 19:15

1st Melbourne City – Bow: H Bradley, 2: W McQueen, 3: J Yeomans, Str: P Bradley, Cox: W H Mackay

2nd Melbourne

3rd Commercial (Brisbane)

4th Albert Park

Champion Men's Eight

(2 3/4 miles)

Time: 15:20 

1st Albert Park – Bow: A Binnie, 2: A Thomas, 3: Harry Oxlade, 4: E Powell, 5: W Chute, 6: W Watson, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: S H Gowdie, Cox: E Hobson

2nd Melbourne

3rd Melbourne City


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

< previous 1888

> next 1890

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management