Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1897 Rowing Victoria State Championships


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 23:03

1st C Chapman, Wairewa (NZL)

G Browne, Essendon (Did not finish)

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 19:30
Margin: 1 3/4 lengths

1st Mercantile – Bow: Barclay G Connor, 2: William Potter, 3: J A Strong, Str: Alex B Sloan, Cox: Victor Jones, Cch: Sid Edwards

2nd Banks

This Championship was conducted on the Lower Yarra on 11th December 1897. Mercantile won this Championship for the third time in succession.

Champion Men's Eight 

(3 miles)

Time: 17:55

1st Mercantile – Bow: Stephen J Morell, 2: Frank S Gibbs, 3: William Potter, 4: Barclay G Connor, 5: A E Hood, 6: J Strong, 7: Harold Lindgren, Str: Alex B Sloan, Cox: Victor Jones

2nd Banks

3rd Yarra Yarra

Champions Eight of Victoria - Mercantile Rowing Club

Back row: Stephen Morell, Barclay Connor, Syd Edwards (coach), William Potter
Front row: Frank Gibbs, Harold Lindgren, Alex Sloan, A E Hood, J Strong

Mercantile in action during a non-Championship race ahead of Albert Park 


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report

Champion eight photographs from Mercantile Rowing Club

< previous 1896

> next 1898

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management