Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1910-1911 Rowing Victoria State Championships

The record field in the Sculling Championship was upset by a series of accidents, initially caused by Percy Ivens hitting a log. Ivens had been sculling well at the one mile mark and hit the log which caused him to capsize. Several other scullers then hit his boat.

The weather took its toll on the pairs Championship races this year with the race being postponed. An equal record number of entries were received but only four crews could make the revised date. 

The Victorian Rowing Association altered the regatta program this season with the Champion Eight Oared Championship being the first Championship on 19th November 1910.


Champion Men's Scull

(2 1/2 miles)

Time: 17:27

1st Horace E Stevens, Essendon

2nd T E Luke, Ballarat City

3rd J Steele, Civil Service

4th E T J Kerby, Wendouree

5th J Howieson, Civil Service

6th E Christie, Sandhurst

7th A Richards, South Melbourne

8th Percy C Ivens, Mercantile

9th T Barrell, Wendouree

Lower Yarra, March 11th, 1911. Nine entries were received for this event, constituting a record. The race was won by Horace E. Stevens (Essendon), who is to be heartily congratulated on attaining Championship honours. Several unfortunate accidents occurred. Percy C. Ivens (Mercantile) had the misfortune to strike a piece of floating wood half a mile from the start, and capsized. T. Barrell (Wendouree), E. Christie, and A. Richards, all struck Ivens’ boat, Barrell being swamped, and the chances of Christie and Richards were also affected by the collision. 

Horace Stevens raced for both Essendon and Mercantile. 

Champion Men's Pair

(1 mile*)

Time: 5:20

1st Footscray City – Bow: M Moran, Str: H Moran, Cox: G Davidson

2nd Civil Service

3rd Essendon

4th South Melbourne

Saltwater River, March 11th, 1911. This event was set down for December 17th, 1910, but, owing to the rough state of the water, was postponed until the 11th March, 1911, the day fixed for the Champion Sculling race. Nine crews entered, which equals the record entry of 1908-09, but only four crews faced the starter. Several of the crews were unable to compete on the revised date.

*The fast time recorded is explained by the fact that the crews did not row the full mile course.

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 15:07.6
Margins: 1 1/2 lengths

1st Essendon – Bow: S H Pettitt, 2: H R Newall, 3: J Johnstone, Str: D McNaughtan, Cox: W Irwin

2nd Albert Park

Mercantile (Bow: M C Brown, 2: E Yandell, 3: A Moore, Str: William Potter) and Footscray City did not finish

Lower Yarra, January 14th, 1911. Four crews entered for this event, which was won by Essendon by a length and a half from Albert Park. The race was not as satisfactory as could have been wished for a Championship, the water being so rough that the Mercantile and Footscray crews both swamped before covering half the course. The Essendon Club is heartily congratulated on securing its first in in this event.

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 14:08

1st Albert Park – Bow: C W Croft, 2: J C Henderson, 3: H Lindgren, 4: C H Kohn, 5: F Johnson, 6: Charles Donald, 7: M G Scott, Str: James Donald, Cox: B Arnold

2nd Footscray City

3rd Mercantile - Bow: G Logan, 2: G Emery, 3: Edward Kenny, 4: E Yandell, 5: A Moore, 6: William Potter, 7: M C Brown, Str: Stanley Guinn, Cox: C Bennett

4th Banks

Yarra, 19th November, 1910. Four entries were received for this event, which was again won by Albert park after a hard race with Footscray, Mercantile being third, and Banks fourth. Your Committee is again greatly indebted to the Melbourne Harbor Trust Commissioners for kindly granting the necessary permission to row the race over the course finishing at Spencer-street, this being a safer, fairer, and more convenient course than the one otherwise available on the Lower Yarra.


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Victorian Rowing Association, Reports 1903 - 1944.

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report 1910-11

< previous 1910

> next 1912

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management