Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1894 Rowing Victoria State Championships

The strength of the Ballarat clubs was again shown this year with all Championships being won by Ballarat Clubs. It also demonstrated the rise of Mercantile Rowing Club, fielding competitive crews in both the four and eight Championships for the first time.


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 22:06

1st W D Dawson, Ballarat

2nd W J Hambleton, Civil Service

3rd G Browne, Essendon

4th W H Harvey, Echuca

5th J B Walters, Yarra Yarra

6th Edward  R Ainley, Yarra Yarra

Champion Sculler - W D Dawson of Ballarat

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 20:50

1st Wendouree – Bow: J Maher, 2: Charles Donald, 3: J Rogers, Str: James Donald, Cox: A McKenzie

2nd Mercantile - Bow: R W Dawson, 2: H Stretlitz, 3: Harold Lindgren, Str: W H T (Herb) Davis, Cox: Victor Jones

3rd Melbourne

4th Yarra Yarra

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 17:06

1st Wendouree – Bow: J Maher, 2: F Clennell, 3: A Dawson, 4: J Blaikie, 5: J Rogers, 6: Charles Donald, 7: W Dawson, Str: James Donald, Cox: A Mckenzie

2nd Yarra Yarra

3rd Mercantile

4th Corio Bay

Wendouree Rowing Club's Champion Eight Of Victoria 1893 - 94

Back row: J. Blaikie (4), A. Dawson (3), J. Rogers (5), C. Donald (6). Front row: F. Clennel (2), J. Donald (str), W. Dawson (7), J. Maher (bow), A. McKenzie (cox).

Champion Eight of Victoria from Wendouree Rowing Club


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Champion Scull and Eight photographs from Wendouree Ballarat Rowing Club.

< previous 1893

> next 1895

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management