Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1895 Rowing Victoria State Championships

The win by Mercantile in the Champion Fours was the first of so many Championship for that club. 

It was also the time when the river improvements of the Upper Yarra were well under way. The river was straightened which made navigation and rowing far easier.

The river improvements of 1890s showing both the old and new courses

The river improvements under construction


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 28:36.5

1st Edward Powell, Albert Park

2nd G Browne, Essendon

3rd W J Hambleton, Civil Service

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 17:22

1st Mercantile – Bow: R Ernie Dawson, 2: Alex B Sloan, 3: Harold Lindgren, Str: W H T (Herb) Davis, Cox: Victor Jones, Cch: Syd Edwards

2nd Albert Park

3rd Wendouree

Champion Four from Mercantile

In the coxswain seat is coach Syd Edwards and Club Captain Frank Gibbs in the scull. The picture was taken in Brickmakers Swamp behind the current boatsheds.

This crew with one change, Charles Donald in and Herb Davis out (retired), won the Intercolonial Four Oared Championship in 1896.

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 17:32

1st Yarra Yarra – Bow: James McDonald, 2: Edward Horsburgh, 3: James Lockington, 4: H A Hearn, 5: D Hancock, 6: D Ross, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: Arthur H Enticott, Cox: G F M Horsburgh

2nd Banks

Yarra Yarra Champion Eight

Back row: James McDonald, D Horsburgh, James Lockington. Seated: H Hearn, Arthur Enticott, Alex Chamley, D Ross. In front: D Hancock, G Horsburgh, Edward Horsburgh


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Champion Four photograph from Mercantile Rowing Club

< previous 1894

> next 1896

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management