Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1912-1913 Rowing Victoria State Championships

The success of racing on the Upper Yarra was obviously proven with both the sculling and pair oared championships being conducted on this course.

The continued success of Albert Park in the four and eights was a highlight. Their dominance during this period was outstanding and oarsmen voted with their feet by transferring to them.


Champion Men's Scull

(about 1 3/4 miles)

Time: 11:55

1st E T J Kerby, Civil Service

2nd T Barrell, South Melbourne

3rd W A B Fawcett, Footscray

Upper Yarra, 16th November, 1912. This race was again rowed over the course from the corner above Punt Road foot-bridge to the St. Kilda railway bridge, about 1 3/4 miles. Three entries were received, the winner being E. T. J. Kerby (Civil Service). Mr. Kerby is congratulated on his first championship victory.

Champion Men's Pair

(1 mile)

Time: 6:09 
Margins: 1/2 length 

1st Essendon –Bow: A F Wishart, Str: A S McGregor, Cox: L J Ennis

2nd Albert Park

3rd Civil Service

Other competitors:

Mercantile - Bow: R Morrison, Str: J Harding

Ballarat City

South Melbourne



Footscray City

Upper Yarra, 16th November, 1912. Nine entries were received for this event, which was rowed over the Henley course. In the first heat Albert Park defeated Ballarat City and Mercantile in 6 min. 6 sec. In the second heat Essendon defeated South Melbourne and Ballarat in 6 min. 20.2 sec. In the third heat Civil Service defeated Banks and Footscray in 6 min. 29 sec. The final resulted in a great race between Essendon and Albert Park, the former winning by half a length in 6 min. 9 sec., Civil Service being third.

Champion Men's Four

(Lower Yarra)

Time: 17:33

1st Albert Park - Bow: D Laird, 2: L S Davis, 3: S Pedder, Str: Charles Donald, Cox: R Duncan
2nd Banks
3rd Mercantile - Bow: P Wade, 2: J Picken, 3: R Morrison, Str: Jud Harding
4th Civil Service

This race was conducted on 14th December 1912 on the Lower Yarra. Despite an entry of nine crews, only four started.

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 15:00

1st Albert Park – Bow: D Laird, 2: C W Croft, 3: M C Boniwell, 4: L S Davis, 5: H S Dickinson, 6: Charles Donald, 7: S Pedder, Str: James Donald, Cox: B Arnold

2nd Banks

3rd Civil Service

Lower Yarra, 15th February, 1913. Three entries were received for this event, which was won by Albert Park, this being their fifth consecutive win. The Albert Park crew was described as a powerful crew.


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Victorian Rowing Association, Reports 1903 - 1944.

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report 1912-13

< previous 1912

> next 1914

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management