Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1906-1907 Rowing Victoria State Championships

For the second tear running, the Victorian Rowig Association Premiership was decided by the Champion Eights race. Mercantile was leading going into the race but Albert Park came out as premiers with their win.

Percy Ivens won the Interstate Sculling Championship for the second year running after his sixth Victorian Sculling Championship.


Champion Men's Scull

(2 1/2 miles)

Time: 16:39

1st Percy C Ivens, Mercantile

2nd Roy Adam, Mercantile

This championship was conducted on 28th January 1907 with only two competitors. Despite the small field, Percy Ivens won in record time and won his sixth successive win in this championship.

Percy Ivens, Sculler

Percy Ivens - Champion Sculler for the sixth time in a row

Champion Men's Pair

(1 mile)

Time: 8:30

1st Mercantile – Bow: Harold Lindgren, Str: J J Fogarty, Cox: A Wickham

2nd South Melbourne

3rd Banks

4th Albert Park

5th Hawthorn

Bairnsdale did not finish owing to an accident.

The Championship was conducted on 19th January 1907 and was won in a fine race. It was the second year in succession that Fogarty had stroked the winning crew.

The race was originally scheduled for 1st December 1906 but owing to the lamentable drowning of Mercantile member Albert Hoof in a swamping of a four oared boat on that day, it was postponed. Hoof was a most active and popular member of the rowing community and his loss cast a gloom over the rowing community. The VRA annual report the "The Committee cannot speak too highly of the excellent service rendered this Association and rowing generally by the Late Mr Hoof.. ."

Albert Hoof

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 19:40.4

1st Mercantile 1 – Bow: Percy C Ivens, 2: William Potter, 3: Harold Lindgren, Str: Alex B Sloan, Cox: A Wickham

2nd Albert Park

3rd Hawthorn

4th Mercantile 2 - Bow: Horace Stevens, 2: J Fogarty, 3: A Moore, Str: Lisle Jones, Cox: O Yandell

This Championship was conducted on 17th November 1906. The race was recorded as being an exciting one which was eventually won by Mercantile. 

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 12:20.2

1st Albert Park – Bow: H J Green, 2: J R Corteen, 3: W C Low, 4: C H Kohn, 5: Henry J Whiting, 6: Charles Donald, 7: M G Scott, Str: James Donald, Cox: B Arnold

2nd Banks

3rd Mercantile - Bow: G Ferguson, 2: G Logan, 3: M C Brown, 4: J J Fogarty, 5: Arch Dobbie, 6: William Potter, 7: Harols Lidgren, Str: Lisle Jones, Cox: A Wickham

This Championship was conducted on 23rd March 1907 on the Lower Yarra and was recorded as a stubbornly fought-out race. The senior premiership rested on the outcome of this race and so was won by Albert Park.


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Victorian Rowing Association, Reports 1903 - 1944.

Ivens photo from the Interstate Regatta program

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report 1906-07

< previous 1906

> next 1908

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management