Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1893 Rowing Victoria State Championships



Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 24:13

1st J C Fitzgerald, Electric Telegraph

2nd Edward R Ainley, Yarra Yarra

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 19:45

1st Yarra Yarra - Bow: C W Horsburgh, 2: J Yeomans, 3: Alex Chamley, Str: A H Enticott, Cox: G F M Horsburgh

2nd South Melbourne

3rd Mercantile - Bow: R W Dawson, 2: H Stretlitz, 3: Harold Lindgren, Str: W H T (Herb) Davis, Cox: Victor Jones

4th Albert Park

Champion Men's Eight 

(3 miles 300 yds.)

Time: 15:44

1st Yarra Yarra – Bow: J McDonald, 2: F Galvin, 3: C W Horsburgh, 4: E Horsburgh, 5: A H Enticott, 6: J Yeomans, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: Edward R Ainley, Cox: G F M Horsburgh

2nd Warnambool - not known but thought to be the winning junior eight that season, namely Bow: E H Price, 2: G Proudfoot, 3: T Rowan, 4: D O'Driscoll, 5: D Rowan, 6: Patrick Ryan, 7: C O'Donnell, Str: J Rowan, Cox: D Cleary

Champion Eight of Victoria from Yarra Yarra Rowing Club


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Champion Eight photograph from Yarra Yarra Rowing Club.

< previous 1892

> next 1894

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management